Inhaltsangabe

Shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize 2017
An atmospheric and thrilling debut set in Yorkshire - perfect for fans of The Loney and The Essex Serpent. Fresh and distinctive writing from an exciting new voice in fiction, Elmet is an unforgettable novel about family as well as a beautiful meditation on landscape.
Daniel is heading north. He is looking for someone. The simplicity of his early life with Daddy and Cathy has turned sour and fearful. They lived apart in the house that Daddy built for them with his bare hands. They foraged and hunted. When they were younger, Daniel and Cathy had gone to school. But they were not like the other children then, and they were even less like them now.
Sometimes Daddy disappeared and would return with a rage in his eyes. But when he was at home, he was at peace. He told them that the little copse in Elmet was theirs alone. But that wasn't true. Local men, greedy and watchful, began to circle like vultures. All the while, the terrible violence in Daddy grew.
Atmospheric and unsettling, Elmet is a lyrical commentary on contemporary society and one family's precarious place in it as well as an exploration of how deep the bond between father and child can go.
©2017 Fiona Mozley (P)2017 John Murray Press
Mehr anzeigen Weniger anzeigen

Regulärer Preis: 23,95 €

Details zum Angebot: Details zum Angebot:
  • 1 Hörbuch pro Monat
  • 30 Tage kostenlos testen
  • Dann 9,95 € pro Monat
  • Jederzeit kündbar
  • Unbegrenzt Audible Original Podcasts hören
Bitte wählen Sie ein Zahlungsmittel aus oder fügen Sie ein Neues hinzu

Für 1 Guthaben kaufen

Bei Abschluss Ihrer Bestellung erklären Sie sich mit unseren AGB einverstanden. Bitte lesen Sie auch unsere Datenschutzerklärung und unsere Erklärungen zu Cookies und zu Internetwerbung.

Für 23,95 € kaufen

Kauf durchführen mit: Zahlungsmittel endet auf
Bei Abschluss Ihrer Bestellung erklären Sie sich mit unseren AGB einverstanden. Bitte lesen Sie auch unsere Datenschutzerklärung und unsere Erklärungen zu Cookies und zu Internetwerbung.

Bei Abschluss Ihrer Bestellung erklären Sie sich mit unseren AGB einverstanden. Bitte lesen Sie auch unsere Datenschutzerklärung und unsere Erklärungen zu Cookies und zu Internetwerbung.

Kritikerstimmen

"Ms Mozley writes with clarity and insight, and her descriptions of the natural world and human relationships are both specific and profound... Elmet is a quiet explosion of a book, exquisite and unforgettable. It is hard not to feel that at 29, Ms Mozley has only just begun." ( The Economist)
Mehr anzeigen Weniger anzeigen
Es gibt noch keine Rezensionen