I'm with the Band

  • von Pamela Des Barres, Dave Navarro
  • Sprecher: Pamela Des Barres
  • 10 Std. 41 Min.
  • ungekürztes Hörbuch


The stylish, exuberant, and remarkably sweet confession of one of the most famous groupies of the 1960s and 70s is back in this new edition that includes an afterword on the author's last 15 years of adventures.
As soon as she graduated from high school, Pamela Des Barres headed for the Sunset Strip, where she knocked on rock stars' backstage doors and immersed herself in the drugs, danger, and ecstasy of the freewheeling 1960s. Over the next 10 years, she had affairs with Mick Jagger, Jimmy Page, Keith Moon, Waylon Jennings, Chris Hillman, Noel Redding, and Jim Morrison, among others. She traveled with Led Zeppelin; lived in sin with Don Johnson; turned down a date with Elvis Presley; and was close friends with Robert Plant, Gram Parsons, Ray Davies, and Frank Zappa. As a member of the GTO's, a girl group masterminded by Frank Zappa, she was in the thick of the most revolutionary renaissance in the history of modern popular music.
Warm, witty, and sexy, this kiss-and-tell-all stands out as the perfect chronicle of one of rock 'n' roll's most thrilling eras.



"Sunny, uninhibited prose." (Slate.com)
"She charms me every time she refuses to regret. And she regrets nothing." (Los Angeles Times)


Das könnte Ihnen auch gefallen:



Pure Pleasure

Delightfully written, excellently author-read biography of girl dreams come true, replete with drama, fat names-dropping in the most endearing, personable style, which occasionally gives you another image of a star. I loved her story of how Jim Morrison talked her - successfully! - out of taking drugs. A lovely story by a somewhat spiritual witness to important cultural history full of humor about herself and nice things about others.
For Germans: So gut wie (und ähnlich wie) Ushi Obermaiers Biographie 'High Times', aber noch mehr girly und sehr viel besser gelesen. Macht einen Riesenunterschied...
Lesen Sie weiter...

- BPd

Weitere Infos zum Titel

  • Erscheinungsdatum: 06.09.2011
  • Verlag: Audible Studios