Blue Nights

  • von Joan Didion
  • Sprecher: Kimberly Farr
  • 4 Std. 21 Min.
  • ungekürztes Hörbuch


From one of our most powerful writers, a work of stunning frankness about losing a daughter. Richly textured with bits of her own childhood and married life with her husband, John Gregory Dunne, and daughter, Quintana Roo, this new book by Joan Didion examines her thoughts, fears, and doubts regarding having children, illness, and growing old.
Blue Nights opens on July 26, 2010, as Didion thinks back to Quintana’s wedding in New York seven years before. Today would be her wedding anniversary. This fact triggers vivid snapshots of Quintana’s childhood—in Malibu, in Brentwood, at school in Holmby Hills. Reflecting on her daughter but also on her role as a parent, Didion asks the candid questions any parent might about how she feels she failed, either because cues were not taken or perhaps displaced. “How could I have missed what was clearly there to be seen?” Finally, perhaps we all remain unknown to each other. Seamlessly woven in are incidents Didion sees as underscoring her own age, something she finds hard to acknowledge, much less accept.
Blue Nights—the long, light evening hours that signal the summer solstice, “the opposite of the dying of the brightness, but also its warning”—like The Year of Magical Thinking before it, is an iconic book of incisive and electric honesty, haunting and profoundly moving.


Das könnte Ihnen auch gefallen:



Persönlich und poetisch

In "Blue Nights" erinnert sich die amerikanische Autorin Joan Didion an ihre Adoptivtochter Quintana Roo, erinnert sich daran, wie es war, sie aufwachsen zu sehen und Abschied zu nehmen, als sie mit 39 Jahren starb. Ein sehr beindruckender Text (wie schon ihr Buch "Das Jahr magischen Denkens") über Erinnerung und Alter, über den Tod und das Leben. Kimberly Farrs Lesung ist sehr stimmig und persönlich, ohne je ins Sentimentale oder Gefühlskitschige abzugleiten.
Ein Hörbuch, das unter die Haut geht.
Lesen Sie weiter...

- Christian

Weitere Infos zum Titel

  • Erscheinungsdatum: 01.11.2011
  • Verlag: Random House Audio