Dear Fatty

  • von Dawn French
  • Sprecher: Liza Tarbuck
  • 6 Std. 40 Min.
  • gekürztes Hörbuch


Dear Fatty is read by Liza Tarbuck at the request of the author. With an introduction from Dawn French. With a sharp eye for comic detail and a wicked ear for the absurdities of life, Dawn French shows just how an RAF girl from the west country with dreams of becoming a ballerina/bridesmaid/thief rose to become one of the best-loved comedy actresses of our time.
Here Dawn French invites us into her most personal relationships with, among others, her mum and dad, her husband, her daughter and her friend Jennifer.
Dawn reveals the people, experiences and obsessions that have influenced her and that helped shape her comedy creations - including dogs, grandmas, teenage angst, school, stealing and David Cassidy. She is as open about her fears and sorrows as she is about her delights and joys, and for the first time shares the experience of losing her beloved dad and later finding a tip-topmost chap in Lenny Henry.
From raging about class and celebrity to describing the highs and lows of motherhood and friendship, Dear Fatty reveals the surprising life behind the smile.



"Something of a revelation. Because in among the the gags and photos of her bare bosom, there is intellectual rigour and real emotional intelligence ... heavens, she's a funny lady. I can't remember the last time a book made me laugh so much."( Sunday Telegraph)
"A national treasure ... Loyal, self-deprecating and garrulous ¿ this is an original book, and will delight her fans and, indeed anyone with a sense of humour."( Mail on Sunday)
"Self-deprecating yet never self-pitying, irreverent yet never truly cynical, she comes across as a woman genuinely at ease with herself ... French is engaging company, and at her best she writes about heartbreak and elation with such grace that her book is impossible to dislike." ( Boston Standard)


Das könnte Ihnen auch gefallen:


Für diesen Titel gibt es noch keine Hörerrezensionen.

Weitere Infos zum Titel

  • Erscheinungsdatum: 11.11.2008
  • Verlag: Random House AudioBooks