Picasso: Creator and Destroyer

  • von Arianna Stassinopoulos Huffington
  • Sprecher: Wanda McCaddon
  • 19 Std. 29 Min.
  • ungekürztes Hörbuch


This landmark biography penetrates the barriers of legend to bring to full and intimate life a man whose burning passions - for painting, women, and ideas - were matched by a compulsion to invent reality in his life no less than in his art. Here is the tragic story of a man who, from his teenage passion for a gypsy boy to the chilling bitterness and betrayals of his old age, was unable to love and was driven to dominate and humiliate the women - and men - who fell under his hypnotic spell.
Drawing on a wealth of startling revelations, including the vivid memories of Picasso’s daughter Maya and the heretofore untold recollections of Françoise Gilot, who shared his life for ten years and bore two of his children, the author has stripped bare the romantic myths to reveal, in all its volatile complexity, Picasso’s lifelong struggle between his power to create and his compulsion to destroy.
Arianna Stassinopoulos Huffington is a writer, lecturer, broadcaster, and cofounder of the news Web site the Huffington Post. She is the author of the best-selling biography Maria Callas: The Woman Behind the Legend and The Gods of Greece. She lives in Houston, Texas, and Santa Barbara, California.



"The Picasso of Huffington’s book is a wretchedly flawed genius, sadistic and treacherous, a liar who betrayed friends and colleagues.… It is, in short, the kind of story for which gossips - and scriptwriters - would kill." ( People)
"Picasso’s prolific creativity, Huffington argues, was fueled by his brutal candor and studied indifference to people and to social convention." ( Atlantic)
"Huffington…has written an astonishing biography, a shocking portrait of a man driven by a compulsive need to destroy even as his creativity burst forth." ( Publishers Weekly)


Das könnte Ihnen auch gefallen:


Für diesen Titel gibt es noch keine Hörerrezensionen.

Weitere Infos zum Titel

  • Erscheinungsdatum: 22.08.2012
  • Verlag: Blackstone Audio, Inc.