So Good They Can't Ignore You

  • von Cal Newport
  • Sprecher: Dave Mallow
  • 6 Std. 28 Min.
  • ungekürztes Hörbuch


Cal Newport's clearly written manifesto flies in the face of conventional wisdom by suggesting that it should be a person's talent and skill - and not necessarily their passion - that determines their career path.
Newport, who graduated from Dartmouth College (Phi Beta Kappa) and earned a PhD from MIT, contends that trying to find what drives us, instead of focusing on areas in which we naturally excel, is ultimately harmful and frustrating to job seekers. The title is a direct quote from comedian Steve Martin, who, when once asked why he was successful in his career, immediately replied, 'Be so good they can't ignore you', and that's the main basis for Newport's audiobook.
Skill and ability trump passion. Inspired by former Apple CEO Steve Jobs' famous Stanford University commencement speech in which Jobs urges idealistic grads to chase their dreams, Newport takes issue with that advice, claiming that not only is this advice Pollyannaish but that Jobs himself never followed his own advice.
From there Newport presents compelling scientific and contemporary case study evidence that the key to one's career success is to find out what you do well and where you have built up your 'career capital' and then to put all of your efforts in that direction.


Das könnte Ihnen auch gefallen:



Das fehlende Glied...

... In der endlosen Kette der Karrierebücher. Wer beim besten Willen nicht sagen kann, dass er von Anfang an eine tiefe "Leidenschaft" für seinen Beruf empfunden hat, für den ist das das richtige Buch. Aus Leidenschaft zu wählen und zu handeln ist im Beruf nämlich nicht optimal und ziemlich gefährlich. Angenehmer, gut verständlicher Sprecher, kurzweilige Fallgeschichten, klare Handlungsanweisungen.
Lesen Sie weiter...

- Claudia


Cal Newport's books have truly changed the way I view and tackle my work! Great stuff, I really recommend it!
Lesen Sie weiter...

- Nina

Weitere Infos zum Titel

  • Erscheinungsdatum: 29.09.2016
  • Verlag: Hachette Audio UK