Lady Susan, The Watsons, and Sanditon

  • von Jane Austen
  • Sprecher: Norma West
  • 6 Std. 32 Min.
  • ungekürztes Hörbuch


Previously unpublished in unabridged audio, these three works (one novel unpublished in her lifetime and two unfinished fragments) reveal Jane Austen's development as a great artist.Lady Susan, with its wicked, beautiful, intelligent, and energetic heroine, is a sparkling melodrama that takes its tone from the outspoken and robust 18th century.Written later, and probably abandoned after her father's death, The Watsons is a tantalizing and highly delightful story whose vitality and optimism centers on the marital prospects of the Watson sisters in a small provincial town.Sanditon, Jane Austen's last fiction, is set in a seaside town; its themes concern the new speculative consumer society and foreshadow the great social upheavals of the Industrial Revolution.



"Three of Jane Austen's less well-known novels are nonetheless classic Austen: complex characters from varying social classes concern themselves with romance and marriage. Norma West reads in a soft, feminine English voice, such as one would expect of an Austen work....West is particularly skilled with the pregnant pauses that signal an important development in the drama." (AudioFile)


Das könnte Ihnen auch gefallen:


Für diesen Titel gibt es noch keine Hörerrezensionen.

Weitere Infos zum Titel

  • Erscheinungsdatum: 26.08.2004
  • Verlag: ISIS Audio Books