• von Vladimir Nabokov
  • Sprecher: Jeremy Irons
  • 11 Std. 32 Min.
  • ungekürztes Hörbuch


When it was published in 1955, Lolita immediately became a cause celebre because of the freedom and sophistication with which it handled the unusual erotic predilections of its protagonist. But Vladimir Nabokov's wise, ironic, elegant masterpiece owes its stature as one of the 20th century's novels of record not to the controversy its material aroused but to its author's use of that material to tell a love story that is shocking in its beauty and tenderness.Awe and exhilaration, along with heartbreak and mordant wit, abound in this account of the aging Humbert Humbert's obsessive, devouring, and doomed passion for the nymphet Dolores Haze. Lolita is also the story of a hypercivilized European colliding with the cheerful barbarism of postwar America. But most of all, it is a meditation on love - as outrage and hallucination, madness and transformation.



"Language is essential to Lolita, and Mr. Irons captures Humbert's voice perfectly. In the Random House audiobook, he read the novel with a sensitivity to the language that conveys all of Nabokov's humor, passion, and lyricism." (The New York Times)
"Lolita is an authentic work of art which compels our immediate response and serious reflection, a revealing and indispensable comedy of horrors." (San Francisco Chronicle)


Das könnte Ihnen auch gefallen:



English language mastered at length

It is a long book. And you need to be ready to listen to the elegantly put thoughts of a pedophile for hours. But that is the core of its artistic value and what makes this book so courageos and impressive. Wonderful: the very elaborate language which Irons masters geniously, bringing the character(s) to life.
Lesen Sie weiter...

- paul

A classic you have to read/listen

It is a classic and a great book: beautiful and perverse... complicate relation between both main characters.
Lesen Sie weiter...

- Pauline

Weitere Infos zum Hörbuch

  • Erscheinungsdatum: 26.09.2005
  • Verlag: Random House Audio