Till We Have Faces

  • von C. S. Lewis
  • Sprecher: Nadia May
  • 8 Std. 6 Min.
  • ungekürztes Hörbuch


C. S. Lewis reworks the timeless myth of Cupid and Psyche into an enduring piece of contemporary fiction in this novel about the struggle between sacred and profane love. Set in the pre-Christian world of Glome on the outskirts of Greek civilization, it is a tale of two princesses: the beautiful Psyche, who is loved by the god of love himself, and Orual, Psyche's unattractive and embittered older sister, who loves Psyche with a destructive possessiveness. Her frustration and jealousy over Psyche's fate sets Orual on the troubled path of self-discovery.
Lewis's last work of fiction, this is often considered his best by critics.



"In Mr. Lewis's sensitive hands the ancient myth retains its fascination while being endowed with new meanings, new depths, new terrors." ( Saturday Review)
"Whenever Nadia May reads, a sensation of comfort creeps into the atmosphere. Her vocal clarity and understanding of the author's meaning bring pleasure and even security to the listening of each work." ( AudioFile)
"The most significant and triumphant work that Lewis has...produced." ( New York Herald Tribune)


Das könnte Ihnen auch gefallen:



A strange tale told beautifully

If you enjoy C. S. Lewis’ space trilogy and a strange tale of the love between sisters this book is for you. As always Lewis captivates the imagination with vivid imagery and ,in this case, an unusual heroin. Nadia May is an excellent narrator who embodies the story with her voice. I would highly recommend this reexamination of the story of Psyche and Cupid.
Lesen Sie weiter...

- A. Fischer

Eine interessante Interpretation von 'Amor und Psyche'

Der Mythos aus der überraschenden Sicht einer der beiden Schwestern. Ein Märchen über Glauben und Vernunft. Die antike Welt ist kraftvoll und packend beschrieben, die Charaktere sind alle sehr glaubwürdig, nur der Schluss ist ein bisschen zu offensichtlich missionarisch und moralisch.
Lesen Sie weiter...

- inthegarden

Weitere Infos zum Titel

  • Erscheinungsdatum: 08.06.2009
  • Verlag: Blackstone Audio, Inc.