Tales of Survival: Caribbean Stories and Poems

  • von Davis Deen
  • Sprecher: Davis Deen
  • 4 Std. 33 Min.
  • ungekürztes Hörbuch

Beschreibung

This audiobook includes a collection of 12 stories and poems drawn from Davis Deen's Trinidadian background. The writing is warm and rich, rooted in and uttering from the Caribbean oral tradition.
This debut collection reflects the views of the ancestral storytelling spirit to change, to adapt, to grow both culturally and socially.
Fans of Lawrence Scott and Anthony Joseph will cherish this collection.

weiterlesen

Das könnte Ihnen auch gefallen:

Hörerrezensionen

Hilfreichste

Storytelling is back

Auf welchen Platz würden Sie Tales of Survival: Caribbean Stories and Poems auf Ihrer Hörbuch-Bestenliste setzen?

When I was younger, my dad used to tell me and my brothers stories every evening; and tales of survival took me back to this time. Davis Deen has created a captivating mix of poetry, fairy tales and critical short stories that give a glimpse into life in Trinidad when he grew up.


Welcher Moment von Tales of Survival: Caribbean Stories and Poems ist Ihnen besonders im Gedächtnis geblieben?

I loved his Anansi stories and the introduction to animals in the Caribbean, some of which I had never heard off before. But the book also portraits critically how everyday life iwa/ is influenced by rites and superstition and thus should not be mistaken as a simple story book for kids.


Wie hat Ihnen Davis Deen als Sprecher gefallen? Warum?

The audio book combines standard English with Caribbean slang, so you need to listen attentively. The speaker has a pleasant voice and reads in a way for a non-native English speaker like myself to understand and enjoy.


Was wäre für andere Hörer sonst noch hilfreich zu wissen, um das Hörbuch richtig einschätzen zu können?

I really loved it and would buy it again!

Lesen Sie weiter...

- Vira

Weitere Infos zum Hörbuch

  • Erscheinungsdatum: 15.05.2015
  • Verlag: Davis Deen