A Distant Shore

  • von Caryl Phillips
  • Sprecher: Jane Carr Arnott
  • 10 Std. 54 Min.
  • ungekürztes Hörbuch


Dorothy and Solomon live in a new housing estate on the outskirts of an English village. She's recently bought her bungalow; he's recently become the night watchman. He is black, an immigrant. She is white, a recently retired music teacher. They are both solitary, reticent outsiders. When they move tenuously toward each other and their paths briefly cross, neither of them can know that it will be the last true human contact either will have.
A Distant Shore unfolds into the past to show us how Solomon and Dorothy have arrived at this moment: Solomon, a former soldier, escaping the horrors of a war-ravaged African country, entering England illegally, a non-man with no resources but his own waning strength, and no comprehension of the society that both hates and harbors him; Dorothy, the product of a troubled childhood and a messy divorce, fleeing the repercussions of a desperate obsession.
In scene after resonant scene, we watch as Solomon and Dorothy come to live inside themselves, closing off from a world that has changed--and changed them--beyond recognition. In their powerfully compelling stories, Caryl Phillips has created a brilliant and moving portrait of modern human displacement: from home, from heart, and from self.



"With elegance and maturity...Phillips crafts an unsettling tale that dramatizes the tremendous cost of difference and the bittersweet pleasures of human connection in a strange and terrible world.” (The Boston Globe)
“Graceful and dizzying....A novel of failed grasps at redemption and horrors that reduce characters to madness, murder, and incoherent grief.” (The Christian Science Monitor)


Das könnte Ihnen auch gefallen:



Great book well presented

Interesting, unusual storyline, very accessible and touching. Two interwoven life stories that unravel bit by bit. Pleasantly read and well presented. A wonderful audio book.
Lesen Sie weiter...

- Vera

Weitere Infos zum Titel

  • Erscheinungsdatum: 07.08.2012
  • Verlag: Audible Studios