An Irish Country Girl : Irish Country

  • von Patrick Taylor
  • Sprecher: Terry Donnelly
  • Serie: Irish Country
  • 10 Std. 19 Min.
  • ungekürztes Hörbuch


Readers of Patrick Taylor's books know Mrs. Kinky Kincaid as the unflappable housekeeper who looks after two frequently frazzled doctors in the colourful Irish village of Ballybucklebo. She is a trusted fixture in the lives of those around her, and it often seems as though Kinky has always been there. Nothing could be farther from the truth.
Some 40-odd years before and many miles to the south, the girl who would someday be Kinky Kincaid was Maureen O'Hanlon, a farmer's daughter growing up in the emerald hills and glens of County Cork. A precocious girl on the cusp of womanhood, Maureen has a head full of dreams, a heart open to romance, and something more: a gift for seeing beyond the ordinary into the mystic realm of fairies, spirits, and even the dreaded Banshee, whose terrifying wail she first hears on a snowy night in 1922.
As she grows into a young woman, Maureen finds herself torn between love and her fondest aspirations, for the future is a mystery even for one blessed with the sight. Encountering both joy and sorrow, Maureen at last finds herself on the road to Ballybucklebo---and the strong and compassionate woman she was always destined to become.
An Irish Country Girl is another captivating tale by Patrick Taylor, a true Irish storyteller.


Das könnte Ihnen auch gefallen:



Written from the view of the housekeeper, Kinky

A story of Kinky's youth is the vehicle used to share an amazing tale about the Irish (traditional) beliefs and folklore. Very interestingly told and divided up between Kinky's present and past life. Very much worth reading, especially if you are interested in learning the folklore of Ireland. The character development is great. You can understand better Kinky Kinkaid. You feel like you are truly in the middle of the story!
Lesen Sie weiter...

- Kindle-Kunde

Weitere Infos zum Titel

  • Erscheinungsdatum: 05.01.2010
  • Verlag: Macmillan Audio