Augustus

  • von John Williams
  • Sprecher: Robin Field
  • 14 Std. 15 Min.
  • ungekürztes Hörbuch

Beschreibung

A brilliant and beautifully written novel in the tradition of Robert Graves’ I, Claudius, Augustus is a sweeping narrative that brings vividly to life a compelling cast of historical figures through their letters, dispatches, and memoirs.
A mere 18 years of age when his uncle, Julius Caesar, is murdered, Octavius Caesar prematurely inherits rule of the Roman Republic. Surrounded by men who are jockeying for power—Cicero, Brutus, Cassius, and Mark Antony—young Octavius must work against the powerful Roman political machinations to claim his destiny as first Roman emperor.
Sprung from meticulous research and the pen of a true poet, Augustus tells the story of one man’s dream to liberate a corrupt Rome from the fancy of the capriciously crooked and the wildly wealthy.

weiterlesen

Kritikerstimmen

Augustus is a masterpiece.” (Los Angeles Times)

weiterlesen

Das könnte Ihnen auch gefallen:

Hörerrezensionen

Hilfreichste

Absolute rubbish

Every single piece of roman literature of the time stands proof that none of Augustus’ contemporaries would have lent himself to write such pompous, sentimental crap. Unbelievable this nonsense was published and even won a prize.
Lesen Sie weiter...

- penemu2000

Weitere Infos zum Titel

  • Erscheinungsdatum: 03.02.2011
  • Verlag: Blackstone Audio, Inc.