Inhaltsangabe

A brilliant and beautifully written novel in the tradition of Robert Graves’ I, Claudius, Augustus is a sweeping narrative that brings vividly to life a compelling cast of historical figures through their letters, dispatches, and memoirs.
A mere 18 years of age when his uncle, Julius Caesar, is murdered, Octavius Caesar prematurely inherits rule of the Roman Republic. Surrounded by men who are jockeying for power—Cicero, Brutus, Cassius, and Mark Antony—young Octavius must work against the powerful Roman political machinations to claim his destiny as first Roman emperor.
Sprung from meticulous research and the pen of a true poet, Augustus tells the story of one man’s dream to liberate a corrupt Rome from the fancy of the capriciously crooked and the wildly wealthy.
©1972 John Williams; 1995 by Nancy Williams (P)2011 Blackstone Audio, Inc.
Mehr anzeigen Weniger anzeigen

Regulärer Preis: 27,95 €

Details zum Angebot: Details zum Angebot:
  • 1 Hörbuch pro Monat
  • 30 Tage kostenlos testen
  • Dann 9,95 € pro Monat
  • Jederzeit kündbar
  • Unbegrenzt Audible Original Podcasts hören
Bitte wählen Sie ein Zahlungsmittel aus oder fügen Sie ein Neues hinzu

Für 1 Guthaben kaufen

Bei Abschluss Ihrer Bestellung erklären Sie sich mit unseren AGB einverstanden. Bitte lesen Sie auch unsere Datenschutzerklärung und unsere Erklärungen zu Cookies und zu Internetwerbung.

Für 27,95 € kaufen

Kauf durchführen mit: Zahlungsmittel endet auf
Bei Abschluss Ihrer Bestellung erklären Sie sich mit unseren AGB einverstanden. Bitte lesen Sie auch unsere Datenschutzerklärung und unsere Erklärungen zu Cookies und zu Internetwerbung.

Bei Abschluss Ihrer Bestellung erklären Sie sich mit unseren AGB einverstanden. Bitte lesen Sie auch unsere Datenschutzerklärung und unsere Erklärungen zu Cookies und zu Internetwerbung.

Kritikerstimmen

Augustus is a masterpiece.” ( Los Angeles Times)
Mehr anzeigen Weniger anzeigen

Kundenrezensionen

Hilfreichste
1 out of 5 stars
Von penemu2000 Am hilfreichsten 21.10.2017

Absolute rubbish

Every single piece of roman literature of the time stands proof that none of Augustus’ contemporaries would have lent himself to write such pompous, sentimental crap. Unbelievable this nonsense was published and even won a prize.

Mehr anzeigen Weniger anzeigen

0 von 2 Hörern fanden diese Rezension hilfreich

Alle Rezensionen anzeigen