Fall of Giants : Century Trilogy

  • von Ken Follett
  • Sprecher: Dan Stevens
  • Serie: Century Trilogy
  • 12 Std. 52 Min.
  • gekürztes Hörbuch


A huge novel that follows five families through the world-shaking dramas of the First World War, the Russian Revolution, and the struggle for votes for women.
It is 1911. The Coronation Day of King George V. The Williams, a Welsh coal-mining family, is linked by romance and enmity to the Fitzherberts, aristocratic coal-mine owners. Lady Maud Fitzherbert falls in love with Walter von Ulrich, a spy at the German Embassy in London. Their destiny is entangled with that of an ambitious young aide to U.S. President Woodrow Wilson and to two orphaned Russian brothers, whose plans to emigrate to America fall foul of war, conscription and revolution.
In a plot of unfolding drama and intriguing complexity, FALL OF GIANTS moves seamlessly from Washington to St Petersburg, from the dirt and danger of a coal mine to the glittering chandeliers of a palace, from the corridors of power to the bedrooms of the mighty.


Das könnte Ihnen auch gefallen:



spannend und interessant

Man verfolgt die Entwicklung der Personen gerne und lernt dabei viel über die geschichtlichen Hintergründe - prima Unterhaltung
Lesen Sie weiter...

- jobabella

What a delight

The story is great, the characters are unique, the historical elements are moving and bringing forward a greater understanding of the war in the early 20th century for the generations born after World War I. Apart from the excellent piece of literature, Ken Follett presents in this novel, the listening is a totally new experience. I have rarely listenend to such a well read, entertaining story. Not only does Dan Stevens manage to envolve the listener into the story line, but in addition he deserves all the recognition and respect I can think of for his perfect switching between voices and dialects. This alone makes it worth listening to the novel. A wonderful combination of artists - Ken Follett and Dan Stevens. Great work.
Lesen Sie weiter...

- donnaeli

Weitere Infos zum Titel

  • Erscheinungsdatum: 28.09.2010
  • Verlag: Pan Macmillan Publishers Ltd.