Fall of Giants : Century Trilogy

  • von Ken Follett
  • Sprecher: John Lee
  • Serie: Century Trilogy
  • 30 Std. 34 Min.
  • ungekürztes Hörbuch


A huge novel that follows five families through the world-shaking dramas of the First World War, the Russian Revolution, and the struggle for votes for women.
It is 1911. The Coronation Day of King George V. The Williams, a Welsh coal-mining family, is linked by romance and enmity to the Fitzherberts, aristocratic coal-mine owners. Lady Maud Fitzherbert falls in love with Walter von Ulrich, a spy at the German Embassy in London. Their destiny is entangled with that of an ambitious young aide to U.S. President Woodrow Wilson and to two orphaned Russian brothers, whose plans to immigrate to America fall foul of war, conscription and revolution. In a plot of unfolding drama and intriguing complexity, FALL OF GIANTS moves seamlessly from Washington to St Petersburg, from the dirt and danger of a coal mine to the glittering chandeliers of a palace, from the corridors of power to the bedrooms of the mighty.


Das könnte Ihnen auch gefallen:



Better than any history lesson

Although I'm very interested in history, I only grasped the whole problematic that led to World War I after reading this book. The stories, as always in Ken Follett's books brilliantly interweaving, are most fascinating, and the historical background is most carefully researched. I really, really enjoyed listening to this audiobook and can recommend it full-heartedly.
Lesen Sie weiter...

- E

Ein langes Hörbuch!

Rezensionen über den Buchinhalt gibt es genügend, sodass ich nur kurz auf das Hörbuch eingehen möchte.

Das Hörbuch ist ungekürzt und kommt daher mit 30 Stunden daher. Der Sprecher ist sehr gut und gibt den Menschen passende Dialekte und Akzente. Der Nachteil daran ist, dass er dadurch viel schwieriger zu verstehen ist. Und unbedingt langsam spricht er auch nicht, aber sobald man sich an dies gewöhnt hat, möchte man das Hörbuch nicht mehr ausschalten.

Klare Empfehlung von mir, wenn man die Zeit dafür findet!
Lesen Sie weiter...

- Gryffindor

Weitere Infos zum Titel

  • Erscheinungsdatum: 29.07.2011
  • Verlag: Macmillan Digital Audio