Inhaltsangabe

In Lonesome Animals, Russell Strawl, a tormented former lawman, is called out of retirement to hunt a serial killer with a sense of the macabre who has been leaving elaborately carved bodies of Native Americans across three counties. As the pursuit ensues, Strawl’s own dark and violent history weaves itself into the hunt, shedding light on the remains of his broken family: one wife taken by the river, one by his own hand; an adopted Native American son who fancies himself a Catholic prophet; and a daughter, whose temerity and stoicism contrast against the romantic notions of how the west was won.
In the vein of True Grit and Blood Meridian, Lonesome Animals is a Western novel reinvented, a detective story inverted for the West. It contemplates the nature of story and heroism in the face of a collapsing ethos not only of Native American culture, but also of the first wave of white men who, through the battle against the geography and its indigenous people, guaranteed their own destruction. But it is also about one man’s urgent, elegiac search for justice amidst the craven acts committed on the edges of civilization.
©2012 Bruce Holbert (P)2013 Audible, Inc.
Mehr anzeigen Weniger anzeigen

Regulärer Preis: 20,95 €

Details zum Angebot: Details zum Angebot:
  • 1 Hörbuch pro Monat
  • 30 Tage kostenlos testen
  • Dann 9,95 € pro Monat
  • Jederzeit kündbar
  • Unbegrenzt Audible Original Podcasts hören
Bitte wählen Sie ein Zahlungsmittel aus oder fügen Sie ein Neues hinzu

Für 1 Guthaben kaufen

Bei Abschluss Ihrer Bestellung erklären Sie sich mit unseren AGB einverstanden. Bitte lesen Sie auch unsere Datenschutzerklärung und unsere Erklärungen zu Cookies und zu Internetwerbung.

Für 20,95 € kaufen

Kauf durchführen mit: Zahlungsmittel endet auf
Bei Abschluss Ihrer Bestellung erklären Sie sich mit unseren AGB einverstanden. Bitte lesen Sie auch unsere Datenschutzerklärung und unsere Erklärungen zu Cookies und zu Internetwerbung.

Bei Abschluss Ihrer Bestellung erklären Sie sich mit unseren AGB einverstanden. Bitte lesen Sie auch unsere Datenschutzerklärung und unsere Erklärungen zu Cookies und zu Internetwerbung.
Es gibt noch keine Rezensionen