Nineteen Minutes

  • von Jodi Picoult
  • Sprecher: Carol Monda
  • 21 Std. 3 Min.
  • ungekürztes Hörbuch


The best-selling author of My Sister's Keeper and The Tenth Circle, Jodi Picoult pens her most riveting book yet, with a startling and poignant story about the devastating aftermath of a small-town tragedy.
Sterling is an ordinary New Hampshire town where nothing ever happens - until the day its complacency is shattered by an act of violence. Josie Cormier, the teenage daughter of the judge sitting on the case, should be the state's best witness, but she can't remember what happened before her very own eyes - or can she? As the trial progresses, fault lines between the high school and the adult community begin to show, destroying the closest of friendships and families.


Das könnte Ihnen auch gefallen:



food for thought

Unfortunately, school shootings have lost some of their shock value in this day and age. Yet this novel draws from the Columbine and Paducah shootings of the late 1990s in whose aftermath the issue of bullying was first addressed (among other things, of course).

Picoult tells the story from varying viewpoints and introduces you to the people involved before they even become involved in a school shooting that kills 10 students and a teacher. By the end of the novel, you're almost exhausted from trying to blame someone, anyone, for what happened - and failing.

This is not a crime novel or a thriller. It's a story about the basic human need for comfort and security in any shape or form.

To me, the most interesting aspect was the look at the parents of the school shooter Peter. At how their life is utterly ruined in nineteen minutes and at how they cope with what their son has done ... and in how far they themselves are to blame. Or are they? Here, too, no easy answers.

This could have become a melodramatic sob story. Instead Picoult turns it into very rich food for thought ... and an all-around great read.
Lesen Sie weiter...

- Vanessa

Weitere Infos zum Titel

  • Erscheinungsdatum: 29.03.2016
  • Verlag: Simon & Schuster Audio