The Killer Angels

  • von Michael Shaara
  • Sprecher: Stephen Hoye
  • 13 Std. 48 Min.
  • ungekürztes Hörbuch


After 30 years and with three million copies in print, Michael Shaara's Pulitzer Prize-winning Civil War classic, The Killer Angels, remains as vivid and powerful as the day it was originally published. July 1863. The Confederate Army of Northern Virginia is invading the North. General Robert E. Lee has made this daring and massive move with 70,000 men in a determined effort to draw out the Union Army of the Potomac and mortally wound it. His right hand is General James Longstreet, a brooding man who is loyal to Lee but stubbornly argues against his plan. Opposing them is an unknown factor: General George Meade, who has taken command of the Army only two days before what will be perhaps the crucial battle of the Civil War.
In the four most bloody and courageous days of our nation's history, two armies fight for two conflicting dreams. One dreams of freedom, the other of a way of life. More than rifles and bullets are carried into battle. The soldiers carry memories. Promises. Love. And more than men fall on those Pennsylvania fields. Bright futures, untested innocence, and pristine beauty are also the casualties of war.
The Killer Angels is unique, sweeping, unforgettable, a dramatic re-creation of the battleground for America's destiny.



"Shaara carries [the reader] swiftly and dramatically to a climax as exciting as if it were being heard for the first time." ( The Seattle Times)"The best and most realistic historical novel about war I have ever read." (General H. Norman Schwarzkopf)


Das könnte Ihnen auch gefallen:




Ich muss gestehen ich habe das Buch gelesen, den Film gesehen und die beiden
Anschlussbücher " Gods and Generals" und "The last full Measure" von ShaaraŽs Sohn verschlungen.
Das Hörbuch ist genauso brilliant wie das Buch, der Sprecher ist sehr gut zu verstehen (kann natürlich an oben genannten Vorkenntnissen liegen). Einfach hervorragend.
Lesen Sie weiter...

- Paul Atreides

Weitere Infos zum Titel

  • Erscheinungsdatum: 13.05.2004
  • Verlag: Random House Audio