The Land of Decoration

  • von Grace McCleen
  • Sprecher: Kate Harbour
  • 8 Std. 35 Min.
  • ungekürztes Hörbuch


Winner of the 2012 Desmond Elliott Prize
Judith and her father don't have much - their house is full of dusty relics, reminders of the mother she's never known. But Judith sees the world with the clear eyes of faith, and where others might see rubbish, Judith sees possibility. Bullied at school, she finds solace in making a model of the Promised Land - using pipe cleaners and other supplies to make little people, a sliver of moon, luminous stars, and a mirror sea - a world of wonder that Judith calls The Land of Decoration.
Perhaps, she thinks, if she makes it snow indoors (using shaving foam, cotton wool, and cellophane) there will be no school on Monday.... Sure enough, when Judith opens her curtains the next day, the world beyond her window has turned white. She has performed her first miracle. And that's when her troubles begin.
With its intensely taut storytelling and gorgeous prose, The Land of Decoration is a heartbreaking story of good and evil, belief and doubt. Its author, Grace McCleen, is a blazing new talent in contemporary literature.



“This extraordinary tale of one little girl's End Times grabbed me by the throat. The Land of Decoration is part social observation and part crazy mysticism, held together by a brutally real story of parent-child love.” (Emma Donoghue, author of Room)
“A touching, delicate book, it's hitting the shelves with high hopes...On March 1, head out and buy Grace McCleen's book” (Louis Wise, Sunday Times)
“Bursting with tension and tenderness, this novel is a small miracle in itself” (Daily Mail)
“The Land of Decoration is a novel that can move the reader from sadness to laughter with alarming suddenness. Grace McCleen's voice sparkles with imagery and ideas, and she uses it to tell a story that is simultaneously multi-layered and absolutely compelling.” (Sam Llewellyn, 2012 Chair of Judges)


Das könnte Ihnen auch gefallen:


Für diesen Titel gibt es noch keine Hörerrezensionen.

Weitere Infos zum Titel

  • Erscheinungsdatum: 01.03.2012
  • Verlag: Random House AudioBooks