The Last Kingdom : Saxon Stories (Abridged)

  • von Bernard Cornwell
  • Sprecher: Jamie Glover
  • Serie: Saxon Stories (Abridged)
  • 5 Std. 30 Min.
  • gekürztes Hörbuch


The Last Kingdom is set in the England of the ninth and tenth centuries. These were the years when the Danish Vikings had invaded and occupied three of England's four kingdoms, and when King Alfred, his son, and grandson, fought back and won the freedom of the country again.The story is seen through the eyes of Uhtred, a dispossessed English nobleman. Captured as a child and raised by the Danes, he now finds his allegiances divided. But the one thing he knows is that he wants to recover his father's land, the fort by the wild northern sea that we now know as Bamburgh.Bernard Cornwell is a master of historical fiction and this new series, looking with a fresh light at Alfred the Great, his kingdom, and his legacy, will be as outstanding and as popular as the Grail Quest and the Warlord Chronicles.



"Cornwell is a virtuoso of historical fiction." (Sunday Telegraph)
"Cornwell's narration is quite masterly and supremely well-researched." (Observer)
"Bernard Cornwell is a literary miracle. Year after year, hail, rain, snow, war, and political upheavals fail to prevent him from producing the most entertaining and readable historical novels of his generation." (Daily Mail)


Das könnte Ihnen auch gefallen:



Großartiges Buch, misserable Tonqualität.

Was genau hat Sie an The Last Kingdom enttäuscht?

Es hört sich an, als käme der Ton aus einer Blechdose.

Welcher Moment von The Last Kingdom ist Ihnen besonders im Gedächtnis geblieben?

Habe es noch nicht zuende gehört.

Welche Szene hat Ihnen am besten gefallen?

Habe es noch nicht zuende gehört.

Welche Szenen dieses Hörbuchs hätten Sie als Regisseur gestrichen?

Habe es noch nicht zuende gehört.

Was wäre für andere Hörer sonst noch hilfreich zu wissen, um das Hörbuch richtig einschätzen zu können?

Habe es noch nicht zuende gehört.

Lesen Sie weiter...

- Marion

Weitere Infos zum Titel

  • Erscheinungsdatum: 17.06.2005
  • Verlag: HarperCollins Publishers Limited