The Pale Horseman : The Last Kingdom Series

  • von Bernard Cornwell
  • Sprecher: Jonathan Keeble
  • Serie: The Last Kingdom Series
  • 14 Std. 6 Min.
  • ungekürztes Hörbuch


A Saxon raised by Vikings. A pagan fighting for a Christian King. The conflict at the heart of a hero will be played out in the fight for England.
It is 877. Across the kingdoms of Britain the Danes are gaining strength. Uhtred of Bebbanburg, a pagan warrior, must decide who he will align with: the Vikings who raised him or Alfred, King of the West Saxons.
As the Danes make for Wessex and threaten to destroy the kingdom, Uhtred will forge an uneasy alliance with the king, to lead the last remaining Saxon army in a battle that will be a fight for the very existence of England.



Praise for The Pale Horseman:
"Bernard Cornwell is a literary miracle. Year after year, hail, rain, snow, war and political upheavals fail to prevent him from producing the most entertaining and readable historical novels of his generation." (Daily Mail)
"Cornwell's narration is quite masterly and supremely well-researched." (Observer)
"It is stirring stuff, and few writers are better qualified than Cornwell to do justice to the excitement of the times…Ninth-century Britain and a master of storytelling - it is a marriage made in heaven." (Sunday Telegraph)
"Cornwell's mastery of historical sources and his aptitude for battle scenes is well established…the language, and particularly the dialogue, is raw and unarchaic, rich in insults and Anglo-Saxon expletives." (Times Literary Supplement)


Das könnte Ihnen auch gefallen:



Lohnenswertes Nachfolger

Sprecher überzeugt wie im ersten Teil. Die Story ist leider nicht so vielschichtig wie die von Teil 1. Aber dennoch sehr gut
Lesen Sie weiter...

- Amazon Customer

Spannung und Drama

steht dem ersten Teil der Saga in nichts nach. Ein echtes Vergnügen, das historisch gut recherchiert ist, auch wenn es die Hauptfigur so nicht gegeben hat.
Lesen Sie weiter...

- Steffen Gaiser

Weitere Infos zum Titel

  • Erscheinungsdatum: 01.05.2014
  • Verlag: HarperCollins Publishers Limited