The Shadow of the Wind

  • von Carlos Ruiz Zafon
  • Sprecher: James Wilby
  • 6 Std. 45 Min.
  • gekürztes Hörbuch


Hidden in the heart of the old city of Barcelona is the "cemetery of lost books", a labyrinthine library of obscure and forgotten titles that have long gone out of print. To this library, a man brings his 10-year-old son Daniel one cold morning in 1945. Daniel is allowed to choose one book from the shelves and pulls out La Sombra del Viento by Julian Carax. But as he grows up, several people seem inordinately interested in his find. Then, one night, as he is wandering the old streets once more, Daniel is approached by a figure who reminds him of a character from La Sombra del Viento, a character who turns out to be the devil. This man is tracking down every last copy of Carax's works in order to burn them. What begins as a case of literary curiosity turns into a race to find out the truth behind the life and death of Julian Carax and to save those he left behind.



"One of the most engaging, funny, moving, lyrical books." ( Irish Examiner)
"Superbly entertaining." ( Washington Post Book World)
"Carlos Ruiz Zafon has written a masterful novel of hope, mystery, and love, made more superb on audio." ( AudioFile)
"Part detective story, part boy's adventure, part romance, fantasy, and gothic horror, the intricate plot is urged on by extravagant foreshadowing and nail-nibbling tension. This is rich, lavish storytelling." ( Booklist)


Das könnte Ihnen auch gefallen:



Super Buch

Das Buch ist wunderschön, spannend und voller Herz. Obwohl ich normalerweise keine Musik in Hörbüchern mag, passt sie hier irgendwie hinein. Schön wäre eine ungekürzte Version gewesen, aber die Kürzung hat der Geschichte nicht geschadet.
Lesen Sie weiter...

- Claudia

Eine tolle Umsetzung!

Ein toller Roman, sehr gut umgesetzt. Der Sprecher ist fantastisch. Die Umsetzung ist eingerahmt von Musik und Effekten, die die Wirkung sehr gut unterstützen.
Lesen Sie weiter...

- Fotofreak

Weitere Infos zum Titel

  • Erscheinungsdatum: 19.04.2006
  • Verlag: Orion Publishing Group Limited