The Turkish Gambit : Erast Fandorin

  • von Boris Akunin
  • Sprecher: Paul Michael
  • Serie: Erast Fandorin
  • 7 Std. 48 Min.
  • ungekürztes Hörbuch


It is 1877, and war has broken out between Russia and the Ottoman Empire. The Bulgarian front resounds with the thunder of cavalry charges, the roar of artillery, and the clash of steel on steel during the world's last great horse-and-cannon conflict. Amid the treacherous atmosphere of a 19th-century Russian field army, former diplomat and detective extraordinaire Erast Fandorin finds his most confounding case. Its difficulties are only compounded by the presence of Varya Suvorova, a deadly serious (and seriously beautiful) woman with revolutionary ideals who has disguised herself as a boy in order to find her respected comrade, and fiance, Pyotr Yablokov, an army cryptographer. Even after Fandorin saves her life, Varya can hardly bear to thank such a "lackey of the throne" for his efforts.
But when Yablokov is accused of espionage and faces imprisonment and execution, Varya must turn to Fandorin to find the real culprit...a mission that forces her to reconsider his courage, deductive mind, and piercing gaze.
Filled with the same delicious detail, ingenious plotting, and subtle satire as The Winter Queen and Murder on the Leviathan, The Turkish Gambit confirms Boris Akunin's status as a master of the historical thriller, and Erast Fandorin as a detective for the ages.



"Akunin provides readers with vivid historical detail, witty dialogue, and colorful characters. Those who love historical mysteries and Russian intrigue will be delighted with his latest offering." ( Booklist)


Das könnte Ihnen auch gefallen:



Too intricate, not enough development

There is no end on the most detailled going-on without developing any depth. Why Fandorin is in the book remains totally unclear, Vavera on the other hand doesn't really show either. It was more than tedious.What kept me reading? Paul Michael is an excellent reader - how he could it up through all those many hours, however, is beyond me...
Lesen Sie weiter...

- achundkrach

Weitere Infos zum Titel

  • Erscheinungsdatum: 18.03.2005
  • Verlag: Books on Tape