The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle

  • von Haruki Murakami
  • Sprecher: Rupert Degas
  • 26 Std. 6 Min.
  • ungekürztes Hörbuch


Toru Okada is going through a difficult time. He is without a job, his cat has disappeared, and his wife is behaving strangely. Into this unbalanced world comes a variety of curious characters, a young girl sunbathing in a nearby garden; sisters who are very peculiar indeed; an old war veteran with a violent, disturbing story. Okada retreats to a deep well in a nearby house. And the story unfolds.


Das könnte Ihnen auch gefallen:



I LOVE Rupert Degas

Murakami and I have a very strange relationship. I've read most of his books, though I didn't like any of them particularly. That's why I never look for them, never intentionally buy them - they just find their way through friends, family and coincidence to me.

This time, it was Rupert Degas who made me buy the book. He is one of the greatest voice actors in my opinion. I love his deep voice, his intonation, the way he gives characters voices. He does an excellent job in this book too, great performance!

Regarding the book itself - it's typical Murakami. It starts normal enough, then it get's weird, strange characters appear, and a mysterious story evolves, which will never completely make sense. But this is one of the better ones. You still kinda get what it is about, and the characters are more humane than they are normally in his books.

So if you like Murakami anyways - you'll like this book. If you generally don't like him - try it anyways. It's really pretty good. And if you don't know who Murakami is ... well, you're in for a ride ;)

All in all I recommend this book. The story is interesting and only sometimes frustrating, and Degas is just A W E S O M E.
Check it out :)
Lesen Sie weiter...

- Shana Shinigami

Narrator destroys the book

Gibt es irgendetwas, das Sie an diesem Hörbuch ändern würden?

Rupert Degas completely destroys the book with his overacting of voices.
While the male characters are still tolerable - the woman's voices are a farce. Mimmicking women's voices is the number one mistake of audio book narrators. It's always annoying and always sounds like a bad parody of gay people. Nowhere near woman's voices. But what Rupert Degas does in this book beats everything. His performance as a 16 year old girl sounds like 5 year old, brain damaged ladyboy/transvestite. Has he ever heard a 16 year old speak?!! Or Imagine an erotic phone conversation with a supposedly hot woman - which sounds here like phone sex with Dame Edna!
I'm a huge fan of Haruki Murakami (I read/listened to ALL of his books) - the more disappointed I am about this terrible voice performance. It totally ruined the book for me. Honestly, all the amateur readers at librivox do a better job than Rupert Degas here. It's a pity cause his real voice sould be very pleasant and his reading style good. I can't understand why audible accepted such a horrible performance. This is supposed to be an AUDIO BOOK and not AUDIO PARODY! A good narrator subtly underlines the emotions of people as they speak - but must NEVER try to mimmick voices!

Please, Murakami fans, and everybody else, be aware - the voice acting here is really horrible!

Lesen Sie weiter...

- ivo

Weitere Infos zum Titel

  • Erscheinungsdatum: 09.08.2006
  • Verlag: Naxos AudioBooks