This Was a Man : Clifton Chronicles

  • von Jeffrey Archer
  • Sprecher: Alex Jennings
  • Serie: Clifton Chronicles
  • 12 Std. 46 Min.
  • ungekürztes Hörbuch


This Was a Man opens with a shot being fired, but who pulled the trigger, and who lives, and who dies?
In Whitehall, Giles Barrington discovers the truth about his wife, Karin, from the Cabinet Secretary. Is she a spy or a pawn in a larger game?
Harry Clifton sets out to write his magnum opus while his wife, Emma, completes her 10 years as Chairman of the Bristol Royal Infirmary and receives an unexpected call from Margaret Thatcher offering her a job.
Sebastian Clifton becomes chairman of Farthings Kaufman bank, but only after Hakim Bishara has to resign for personal reasons. Sebastian and Samantha's talented daughter, Jessica, is expelled from the Slade School of Fine Art, but her aunt Grace comes to her rescue.
Meanwhile, Lady Virginia is about to flee the country to avoid her creditors when the Duchess of Hertford dies, and she sees another opportunity to clear her debts and finally trump the Cliftons and Barringtons.
In a devastating twist, tragedy engulfs the Clifton family when one of them receives a shocking diagnosis that will throw all their lives into turmoil.
This Was a Man is the captivating final instalment of the Clifton Chronicles, a series of seven novels that has topped the bestseller lists around the world and enhanced Jeffrey Archer's reputation as a master storyteller.


Das könnte Ihnen auch gefallen:



The best one yet!

I thoroughly enjoyed the ending of these chronicles. I felt the author did a fantastic job of wrapping it all up. The audible version was very well done and I would recommend this novel to anyone who enjoys a good romance, with historical fiction woven in to the tale as well.
Lesen Sie weiter...

- Benjamin

die Luft geht langsam aus, dennoch interessant

Die Luft aus den Cliftons entweicht langsam, man kennt die Charaktere, kennt deren Geschichte & Geschichten, es bleibt interessant aber jetzt hat sich JA mal eine Pause verdient...
Story fügt sich nahtlos an die vorhergegangenen Bücher und ist gut vorgelesen
Lesen Sie weiter...

- Georg-Marcus

Weitere Infos zum Titel

  • Erscheinungsdatum: 03.11.2016
  • Verlag: Pan Macmillan Publishers Ltd.