Where All Light Tends to Go

  • von David Joy
  • Sprecher: MacLeod Andrews
  • 7 Std. 30 Min.
  • ungekürztes Hörbuch


In the country-noir tradition of Winter's Bone meets Breaking Bad, a savage and beautiful story of a young man seeking redemption.
The area surrounding Cashiers, North Carolina, is home to people of all kinds, but the world that Jacob McNeely lives in is crueler than most. His father runs a methodically organized meth ring, with local authorities on the dime to turn a blind eye to his dealings. Having dropped out of high school and cut himself off from his peers, Jacob has been working for this father for years, all on the promise that his payday will come eventually. The only joy he finds comes from reuniting with Maggie, his first love, and a girl clearly bound for bigger and better things than their hardscrabble town.
Jacob has always been resigned to play the cards that were dealt him, but when a fatal mistake changes everything, he's faced with a choice: stay and appease his father, or leave the mountains with the girl he loves. In a place where blood is thicker than water and hope takes a back seat to fate, Jacob wonders if he can muster the strength to rise above the only life he's ever known.


Beschreibung von Audible

Editors Select, March 2015 - Where All Light Tends to Go was first described to me as Breaking Bad meets Winter's Bone. I was in the middle of binge-watching Walter White's journey at the time – and couldn't get enough – so had to start reading this book. David Joy's debut, about a young man trying to escape the cycle of violence passed on in his family, is beautifully written and truly haunting. It's dark, gritty, and not for the faint of heart. I can't help but think that Joy – who I'm told is a big fan of audio – will be just as excited as we are to have listener favorite MacLeod Andrews performing his work. —Diana, Audible Editor


Das könnte Ihnen auch gefallen:


Für diesen Titel gibt es noch keine Hörerrezensionen.

Weitere Infos zum Titel

  • Erscheinungsdatum: 03.03.2015
  • Verlag: Penguin Audio