Ya-Yas in Bloom : Ya-Yas

  • von Rebecca Wells
  • Sprecher: Judith Ivey
  • Serie: Ya-Yas
  • 9 Std. 21 Min.
  • ungekürztes Hörbuch


An emotionally charged addition to Rebecca Wells' award-winning best seller Little Altars Everywhere and number-one New York Times best seller Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood, Ya-Yas in Bloom reveals the roots of the Ya-Yas' friendship in the 1930s and roars through 60 years of marriage, children, and hair-raising family secrets. When four-year-old Teensy Whitman prisses one time too many and stuffs a big old pecan up her nose, she sets off the chain of events that lead Vivi, Teensy, Caro, and Necie to become true sister-friends. Ya-Yas in Bloom shows us the Ya-Yas in love and at war with convention.
Through crises of faith and hilarious lapses of parenting skills, brushes with alcoholism and glimpses of the dark reality of racial bigotry, the Ya-Ya values of unconditional loyalty, high style, and Cajun sass shine through at a time when the dynamic web of sisterhood is the only safety net strong enough to hold families together and endure.


Beschreibung von Audible

Tony Award winner Judith Ivey may not be from Louisiana, but there's no doubt her heart belongs to the home of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood and the highly acclaimed sagas of the Southern belles. In this newest addition, Ivey reveals the beginnings of the Ya-Yas' friendship in the 1930s, sixty years of marriages, children, scandals, and the bond that holds them together. She flawlessly performs the stories as dozens of easily identifiable, believable characters, not only in the purrs and hisses (often tinged with booze) of the beloved Ya-Yas, but also the giggly lisps of the 4-years-olds and the roaring, blustering bassos of powerful Southern gents. If ever there was a match made in heaven, Ivey and the Ya-Yas are it.



"A very entertaining and, ultimately, deeply moving novel about the complex bonds between mother and daughter." ( Washington Post)
"Every bit as joyful as the original...Uplifting, uproarious, saucy, and smart...lives up to the highest expectations." ( Booklist)


Das könnte Ihnen auch gefallen:


Für diesen Titel gibt es noch keine Hörerrezensionen.

Weitere Infos zum Titel

  • Erscheinungsdatum: 07.07.2009
  • Verlag: HarperAudio