Old Age

  • von Michael Kinsley
  • Sprecher: Danny Campbell
  • 3 Std. 40 Min.
  • ungekürztes Hörbuch


Vanity Fair columnist Michael Kinsley escorts his fellow boomers through the door marked "Exit".
The notorious baby boomers - the largest age cohort in history - are approaching the end and starting to plan their final moves in the game of life. Now they are asking: What was that all about? Was it about acquiring things or changing the world? Was it about keeping all your marbles? Or is the only thing that counts after you're gone the reputation you leave behind?
In this series of essays, Michael Kinsley uses his own battle with Parkinson's disease to unearth answers to questions we are all at some time forced to confront. "Sometimes," he writes, "I feel like a scout from my generation, sent out ahead to experience in my 50s what even the healthiest boomers are going to experience in their 60s, 70s, or 80s."
This surprisingly cheerful book is at once a fresh assessment of a generation and a frequently funny account of one man's journey toward the finish line. "The least misfortune can do to make up for itself is to be interesting," he writes. "Parkinson's disease has fulfilled that obligation."



" Old Age is irreverent, wise, and laugh-out-loud funny about living long enough for your organs to start to betray you. Count on Michael Kinsley to write the book about life you didn't know you needed." (Atul Gawande)
"Political journalist Kinsley, who revealed he has Parkinson's disease in 2002, reads the foreword and introduction of his surprisingly uplifting meditation on aging. When narrator Danny Campbell takes over, his tone and vocal maturity sound a lot like Kinsley's. Adding the appealing texture of his utterly authentic phrasing, Campbell's performance is ideal for this intelligent book.... With Danny Campbell reading, the book's message acquires the power to captivate an even wider audience." ( AudioFile)


Das könnte Ihnen auch gefallen:


Für diesen Titel gibt es noch keine Hörerrezensionen.

Weitere Infos zum Titel

  • Erscheinungsdatum: 26.04.2016
  • Verlag: Random House Audio