Art History: A Very Short Introduction

  • von Dana Arnold
  • Sprecher: Julia Whelan
  • 3 Std. 55 Min.
  • ungekürztes Hörbuch


This clear and concise new introduction examines all the major debates and issues using a wide range of well-known examples. It discusses the challenge of using verbal and written language to analyze a visual form. Dana Arnold also examines the many different ways of writing about art, and the changing boundaries of the subject of art history. Topics covered include the canon of Art History, the role of the gallery, 'blockbuster' exhibitions, the emergence of social histories of art (Feminist Art History or Queer Art History, for example), the impact of photography, and the development of Art History using artifacts such as the altarpiece, the portrait, or pornography, to explore social and cultural issues such as consumption, taste, religion, and politics. Importantly, this audiobook explains how the traditional emphasis on periods and styles originates in western art production and can obscure other critical approaches, as well as art from non-western cultures.


Beschreibung von Audible

If you’re looking for an accessible entrance into the realm of art history, look no further - this concise, comprehensive introduction from Oxford University Press’s Very Short Introduction series has you covered! Dana Arnold authors this engaging audiobook, which provides listeners with basic information about the field of art history, including everything from important artists to the chronology of different mediums, to the relationship between traditional western art history and a more modern, anthropological focus on non-western artistic contributions.
Voice actor Julia Whelan has a clear, friendly voice, and her performance is well-paced and accessible. Getting into a new field can be scary, but Whelan’s approachable tone makes art history seem too cool to miss out on!


Das könnte Ihnen auch gefallen:


Für diesen Titel gibt es noch keine Hörerrezensionen.

Weitere Infos zum Titel

  • Erscheinungsdatum: 08.11.2013
  • Verlag: Audible Studios