• von Sir David Frost
  • Sprecher: David Frost
  • 4 Std. 6 Min.
  • gekürztes Hörbuch


Following the resounding success of the eponymous West End and Broadway hit play, Frost/Nixon tells the extraordinary story of how Sir David Frost pursued and landed the biggest fish of his career - and how the series drew larger audiences than any news interview ever had in the United States, before being shown all over the world. This is Frost's absorbing story of his pursuit of Richard Nixon, and is no less revealing of his own toughness and pertinacity than of the ex-President's elusiveness. Frost's encounters with such figures as Swifty Lazar, Ron Ziegler, potential sponsors, and Nixon as negotiator are nothing short of hilarious, and his insight into the taping of the programs themselves is fascinating.
Frost/Nixon provides the authoritative account of the only public trial that Nixon would ever have, and a revelation of the man's character as it appeared in the stress of 11 grueling sessions before the cameras. Including historical perspective and transcripts of the edited interviews, this is the story of Sir David Frost's quest to produce one of the most dramatic pieces of television ever broadcast, described by commentators at the time as "a catharsis" for the American people.


Beschreibung von Audible

The celebrated British television interviewer intones with gravitas his pursuit of the "biggest fish" in his career, disgraced former President Richard Nixon. In an enigmatic accent, Frost engrosses the listener in the behind-the-scenes machinations necessary to put together an unheard of deal. He admits his anxiety about his attempt to reel in the president and allows that tension to drive the rhythm of the narration. Most enjoyable is his vocal tone when delivering the more outrageous portions of the memoir. Proving himself worthy of the accolades he received for his long career as a storyteller and interviewer, Frost makes this work well worth the time and attention of the listener.


Das könnte Ihnen auch gefallen:


Für diesen Titel gibt es noch keine Hörerrezensionen.

Weitere Infos zum Titel

  • Erscheinungsdatum: 18.11.2008
  • Verlag: HarperAudio