Hegemony or Survival

  • von Noam Chomsky
  • Sprecher: Brian Jones, Noam Chomsky
  • 7 Std. 42 Min.
  • ungekürztes Hörbuch


For more than half a century, the United States has been pursuing a grand imperial strategy with the aim of staking out the globe. Our leaders have shown themselves willing, as in the Cuban missile crisis, to follow the dream of dominance no matter how high the risks. Now the Bush administration is intensifying this process, driving us toward the final frontiers of imperial control, toward a choice between the prerogatives of power and a livable Earth. Noam Chomsky investigates how we came to this moment, what kind of peril we find ourselves in and why our rulers are willing to jeopardize the future of our species. Lucid, rigorous and thoroughly documented, Hegemony or Survival is Chomsky's most urgent and sweeping work in years. Certain to spark widespread debate, it is a definitive statement from one of the world's most influential political thinkers.



"Judged in terms of the power, range, novelty, and influence of his thought, Noam Chomsky is arguably the most important intellectual alive." ( The New York Times)
"In this highly readable...critique of American foreign policy from the late 1950s to the present...Chomsky brings together many themes he has mined in the past, making this cogent and provocative book an important addition to an ongoing public discussion about U.S. policy." ( Publishers Weekly)


Das könnte Ihnen auch gefallen:



Great ideas, but the speaker is melodramatic

I couldn't agree more with Chomsky's ideas and his insightful analyses of destructive US foreign policies in the 20th century. But if you have ever seen Chomsky give a talk about his political ideas, you will be disappointed by the speaker. Whereas Chomsky presents his ideas in a seemingly calm and sometimes disillusioned tone that subtly reveals his anger about the current affairs, this speaker is too melodramatic.
Lesen Sie weiter...

- Jan G.

Weitere Infos zum Titel

  • Erscheinungsdatum: 21.11.2003
  • Verlag: Macmillan Audio