Legacy of Ashes

  • von Tim Weiner
  • Sprecher: Stefan Rudnicki
  • 21 Std. 36 Min.
  • ungekürztes Hörbuch


This is the book the CIA does not want you to read. For the last 60 years, the CIA has maintained a formidable reputation in spite of its terrible record, never disclosing its blunders to the American public. It spun its own truth to the nation while reality lay buried in classified archives. Now, Pulitzer Prize-winning New York Times reporter Tim Weiner offers a stunning indictment of the CIA, a deeply flawed organization that has never deserved America's confidence. Legacy of Ashes is based on more than 50,000 documents, primarily from the archives of the CIA. Everything is on the record. There are no anonymous sources, no blind quotations. With shocking revelations that will make headlines, Tim Weiner gets at the truth and tells us how the CIA's failures have profoundly jeopardized our national security.



"Absorbing...a credible and damning indictment of American intelligence policy." ( Publishers Weekly)"A timely, immensely readable, and highly critical history of the CIA, culminating with the most recent catastrophic failures in Iraq." (Mark Bowden, author of Blackhawk Down)


Das könnte Ihnen auch gefallen:



Fascinating story and enjoyable listening experience

This book was a recommendation on the NoAgenda podcast (which I hereby also recommend) and after having finished the book I encourage anyone else to listen to it too.
It tells the story of the CIA from its founding days after WW2 until the end of the Bush administration.
I read on some Amazon reviews that the book is negatively biased towards the CIA and from time to time it seems so. But when you have listened to the last two chapters, the whole story gets and additional aspect, so I really can't join into this criticism.
I whole-heartedly recommend listening to this audiobook. And as the speaker's voice fits the narrative nicely this is not only an interesting but also a very pleasant experience.
Lesen Sie weiter...

- T. Handte

Weitere Infos zum Titel

  • Erscheinungsdatum: 03.07.2007
  • Verlag: Blackstone Audio, Inc.