Postwar: A History of Europe Since 1945

  • von Tony Judt
  • Sprecher: Ralph Cosham
  • 43 Std. 0 Min.
  • ungekürztes Hörbuch


A Finalist for the Pulitzer Prize and Named One of the Ten Best Books of the Year by the New York Times Book Review.
Almost a decade in the making, this much-anticipated grand history of postwar Europe from one of the world’s most esteemed historians and intellectuals is a singular achievement. Postwar is the first modern history that covers all of Europe, both east and west, drawing on research in six languages to sweep listeners through 34 nations and 60 years of political and cultural change—all in one integrated, enthralling narrative. Both intellectually ambitious and compelling to read, thrilling in its scope and delightful in its small details, Postwar is a rare joy.
Tony Judt (1948–2010), the author of 11 books, was Erich Maria Remarque professor of European studies at New York University and director and founder of the Remarque Institute.



“A book that has the pace of a thriller and the scope of an encyclopedia…A very considerable achievement…Brilliant." (New York Review of Books)
“Remarkable…. The writing is vivid; the coverage—of little countries as well as of great ones—is virtually superhuman.” (The New Yorker)
“Massive, kaleidoscopic, and thoroughly readable…[Judt’s] book now becomes the definitive account of Europe’s rise from the ashes and its takeoff into an uncertain future.” (Time)


Das könnte Ihnen auch gefallen:



A must for any European person who claims to be educated

This book is masterpiece detailing the history and development of Europe since the second world war. Anybody trying to understand the current state of Europe should read it. Judy's breadth of view is enormous and he truly manages to portray and detail the different currents all flowing into and contributing to the current state of affairs in Europe, the EU, and its relationships to the US and Russia in a riveting account.
Lesen Sie weiter...

- Amazon Kunde

Weitere Infos zum Titel

  • Erscheinungsdatum: 07.01.2011
  • Verlag: Blackstone Audio, Inc.