The Life of Greece : The Story of Civilization

  • von Will Durant
  • Sprecher: Stefan Rudnicki
  • Serie: The Story of Civilization
  • 32 Std. 42 Min.
  • ungekürztes Hörbuch


The second volume of Will Durant's Pulitzer Prize - winning series The Story of Civilization. Volume 2 chronicles the history of ancient Greek civilization. Here Durant tells the whole story of Greece from the days of Crete's vast Aegean empire to the final extirpation of the last remnants of Greek liberty, crushed under the heel of an implacably forward-marching Rome. The dry minutiae of battles and sieges, of tortuous statecraft of tyrant and king, get minor emphasis in what is preeminently a vivid recreation of Greek culture, brought to the listener through the medium of supple, vigorous prose.
In this masterful work, listeners will learn about:

The siege of Troy
The great city-states of Athens and Sparta
The heroes of Homer's epics
The gods and lesser deities of Mount Olympus
The teachings of Socrates, Plato, and Aristotle
The empire of Alexander the Great


Das könnte Ihnen auch gefallen:


Für diesen Titel gibt es noch keine Hörerrezensionen.

Weitere Infos zum Titel

  • Erscheinungsdatum: 13.11.2013
  • Verlag: Blackstone Audio, Inc.