The Taste of Conquest

  • von Michael Krondl
  • Sprecher: Todd McLaren
  • 10 Std. 35 Min.
  • ungekürztes Hörbuch

Beschreibung

In this engaging, anecdotal history of food, world conquest, and desire, a chef-turned-journalist tells the story of three legendary cities, Venice, Lisbon, and Amsterdam, that transformed the globe in the quest for spice. Written in a colorful style that will appeal to fans of Mark Kurlansky and Michael Pollan, this ambitious yet accessible book travels effortlessly from the Crusades to the present day. Michael Krondl explains that it was the desire for spices that got international trade up and running on a scale that had never occurred prior to that time. This explosive growth of the spice trade led to the successive rise and fall of Venice, Lisbon, and Amsterdam. Krondl, a gifted food writer, travels to each of these great cities and begins his visit with a great meal. Gradually, he merges the menu he's enjoying with the city's colorful past, and listeners are off on a gastronomical tour that teaches them not only about food and spice but also about history and commerce.

weiterlesen

Kritikerstimmen

"The Taste of Conquest is the savory story of the rise and fall of three spice-trading cities. It is filled with rich aromas and piquant tastes from the past that still resonate today. Michael Krondl serves up this aromatic tale with zest and verve. This book isn't just for historians and spice lovers - it's for all who love good writing and great stories." (Andrew F. Smith, editor, The Oxford Companion to American Food and Drink)

weiterlesen

Das könnte Ihnen auch gefallen:

Hörerrezensionen

Hilfreichste

Informative and entertaining

A side of history you never knew you wanted to hear more about! ;)

Seriously though, since the spice trade was the foundation for several trade empires, it's very interesting to hear more about how the whole thing started, how spices were used in medieval recipes, and what impact the spice trade had on various economies.

The narrator does a good job. The story itself is very well researched and easy to follow without being dumbed down. One thing I'd have liked to get a little more detail about was the way the spice trade impacted the natives of the world regions, but that's not to say it isn't mentioned at all.

On the whole this is surprisingly entertaining and a good explanation of some of the how and why Europeans made their way around the world.
Lesen Sie weiter...

- lavvyan

Weitere Infos zum Hörbuch

  • Erscheinungsdatum: 05.11.2007
  • Verlag: Tantor Audio