This Sceptred Isle: Collection 1

  • von Christopher Lee
  • Sprecher: Anna Massey, Paul Eddington
  • 15 Std. 25 Min.
  • Radio/TV


The first five volumes from the landmark BBC radio series This Sceptred Isle.
Christopher Lee's epic history tells the story of Britain from the Romans to the death of Victoria. This collection includes the original first five volumes:
55BC-1087: Julius Caesar to William the Conqueror
From Britannia under the Romans to the Dark Ages and the invasions of Angles, Saxons, Danes, and Norwegians.
1087-1327: The Making of the Nation
The Crusades, Welsh and Scottish rebellions and the foundations of the modern state - including Magna Carta and the fledgling English Parliament.
1327-1547: The Black Prince to Henry VIII
The Hundred Years' War, the Peasants' Revolt, the Wars of the Roses and the reign of Henry VIII.
1547-1660: Elizabeth I to Cromwell
Elizabeth I's long reign; the Civil War, the execution of Charles I and the establishment of Cromwell as Lord Protector.
1660-1702: Restoration and Glorious Revolution
The return of Charles II, the Great Plague and Great Fire of London, and a ruler from a different country on the throne: William of Orange.
Narrated by Anna Massey, with extracts from Sir Winston Churchill's A History of the English-Speaking Peoples read by Paul Eddington and Peter Jeffrey, this is the definitive radio account of the events and personalities that have shaped our nation.


Das könnte Ihnen auch gefallen:


Für diesen Titel gibt es noch keine Hörerrezensionen.

Weitere Infos zum Titel

  • Erscheinungsdatum: 06.04.2017
  • Verlag: BBC Worldwide Ltd.