Salt to the Sea

  • von Ruta Sepetys
  • Sprecher: Jorjeana Marie, Will Damron, Cassandra Morris, Michael Crouch
  • 8 Std. 50 Min.
  • ungekürztes Hörbuch

Beschreibung

Winner, 2017 APA Audie Awards - Young Adult
For readers of Between Shades of Gray and All the Light We Cannot See, international best-selling author Ruta Sepetys returns to WWII in this epic novel that shines a light on one of the war's most devastating - yet unknown - tragedies.
In 1945, World War II is drawing to a close in East Prussia, and thousands of refugees are on a desperate trek toward freedom, almost all of them with something to hide. Among them are Joana, Emilia, and Florian, whose paths converge en route to the ship that promises salvation, the Wilhelm Gustloff. Forced by circumstance to unite, the three find their strength, courage, and trust in each other tested with each step closer to safety.
Just when it seems freedom is within their grasp, tragedy strikes. Not country nor culture nor status matters as all 10,000 people aboard must fight for the same thing: survival.
Told in alternating points of view and perfect for fans of Anthony Doerr's Pulitzer Prize-winning All the Light We Cannot See, Erik Larson's critically acclaimed number-one New York Times best seller Dead Wake, and Elizabeth Wein's Printz Honor Book Code Name Verity, this masterful work of historical fiction is inspired by the real-life tragedy that was the sinking of the Wilhelm Gustloff- the greatest maritime disaster in history. As she did in Between Shades of Gray, Ruta Sepetys unearths a shockingly little-known casualty of a gruesome war and proves that humanity can prevail, even in the darkest of hours.

weiterlesen

Kritikerstimmen

"Ruta Sepetys is a master of historical fiction. In Salt to the Sea the hard truths of her herculean research are tempered with effortless, intimate storytelling, as her warm and human characters breathe new life into one of the world's most terrible and neglected tragedies." (Elizabeth Wein, New York Times best-selling author of Printz Award Honor Book Code Name Verity)
"A rich, page-turning story that brings to vivid life a terrifying - and little-known - moment in World War II history." (Steve Sheinkin, author of Newbery Honor and National Book Award finalist Bomb)
"Brutal. Beautiful. Honest." (Sabaa Tahir, New York Times best-selling author of An Ember in the Ashes)

weiterlesen

Das könnte Ihnen auch gefallen:

Hörerrezensionen

Hilfreichste

an amazing story

This book is so so good. I like the multiple points of view. Every character has his own voice (not only because there are diffrent narrators, which by the way are all great and really bring the charaters to life). I love that Ruta Sepetys did so much reseach on the Wilhelm Gustloff and the time period. There are so many tragedies that happened during the 2. world war that have somewhat been forgotten or haven't been talked about. Such an amazing story that provokes all your feels :)
Lesen Sie weiter...

- Melanie

Weitere Infos zum Hörbuch

  • Erscheinungsdatum: 02.02.2016
  • Verlag: Listening Library