The Girl Who Drank the Moon

  • von Kelly Barnhill
  • Sprecher: Christina Moore
  • 9 Std. 37 Min.
  • ungekürztes Hörbuch


A young girl raised by a witch, a swamp monster, and a Perfectly Tiny Dragon must unlock the dangerous magic buried deep inside her in this epic coming-of-age fairy tale from the highly acclaimed author of The Witch's Boy.
Every year the people of the Protectorate leave a baby as an offering to the witch who lives in the forest. They hope this sacrifice will keep her from terrorizing their town. But the witch in the forest, Xan, is kind and gentle. She shares her home with a wise Swamp Monster named Glerk and a Perfectly Tiny Dragon, Fyrian. Xan rescues the abandoned children and delivers them to welcoming families on the other side of the forest, nourishing the babies with starlight on the journey.
One year Xan accidentally feeds a baby moonlight instead of starlight, filling the ordinary child with extraordinary magic. Xan decides she must raise this girl, whom she calls Luna, as her own. When Luna approaches her 13th birthday, her magic begins to emerge on schedule - but Xan is far away. Meanwhile, a young man from the Protectorate is determined to free his people by killing the witch. Soon it is up to Luna to protect those who have protected her - even if it means the end of the loving, safe world she's always known.
The acclaimed author of The Witch's Boy has created another epic coming-of-age fairy tale destined to become a modern classic.


Das könnte Ihnen auch gefallen:



Fabelhaftes Buch

Würden Sie The Girl Who Drank the Moon noch mal anhören? Warum?

Ich werde dieses Buch sicher noch mal hören weil es so vieles gab dass ich noch mal erfahren will, den ganzen Kontext kennende. Und weil es so viel Spass gemacht hat Zeit zu verbringen mit Xan, Luna und alle andere.

Lesen Sie weiter...

- Lara

Fairy tale like

Wonderful story, wonderful reader. This could have been an ancient fairy tale rather than a newly written story. Loved it!
Lesen Sie weiter...

- Hadya

Weitere Infos zum Titel

  • Erscheinungsdatum: 09.08.2016
  • Verlag: Recorded Books