The Smell of Other People's Houses

  • von Bonnie-Sue Hitchcock
  • Sprecher: Jorjeana Marie, Erin Tripp, Karissa Vacker, Robbie Daymond
  • 5 Std. 37 Min.
  • ungekürztes Hörbuch

Beschreibung

Alaska, 1970. Being a teenager here isn't like being a teenager anywhere else.
This deeply moving and authentic debut is for fans of Rainbow Rowell, Louise Erdrich, Sherman Alexie, and Benjamin Alire Saenz. Intertwining stories of love, tragedy, wild luck, and salvation on the edge of America's last frontier introduce a writer of rare talent.
Ruth has a secret that she can't hide forever. Dora wonders if she can ever truly escape where she comes from, even when good luck strikes. Alyce is trying to reconcile her desire to dance with the life she's always known on her family's fishing boat. Hank and his brothers decide it's safer to run away than to stay home - until one of them ends up in terrible danger.
Four very different lives are about to become entangled. This unforgettable book is about people who try to save each other - and how sometimes, when they least expect it, they succeed.
Narrator cast list:


Ruth read by Jorjeana Marie
Dora read by Erin Tripp
Alyce read by Karissa Vacker
Hank read by Robbie Daymond

weiterlesen

Kritikerstimmen

"...this is an exquisitely drawn, deeply heartfelt look at a time and place not often addressed. Hitchcock's measured prose casts a gorgeous, almost otherworldly feel over the text, resulting in a quietly lovely look at the various sides of human nature and growing up in a difficult world." (Booklist)
"Using alternating narratives, debut novelist Hitchcock deftly weaves these stories together, setting them against the backdrop of a native Alaska that readers will find intoxicating. The gutsiness of these four teens who, at heart, are trying to find their places in the world and survive against challenging odds, will resonate with readers of all ages." (Publishers Weekly)

weiterlesen

Das könnte Ihnen auch gefallen:

Hörerrezensionen

Für diesen Titel gibt es noch keine Hörerrezensionen.

Weitere Infos zum Hörbuch

  • Erscheinungsdatum: 23.02.2016
  • Verlag: Listening Library (Audio)