Captains Outrageous : Hap Collins/Leonard Pine

  • von Joe R. Lansdale
  • Sprecher: Phil Gigante
  • Serie: Hap Collins/Leonard Pine
  • 8 Std. 31 Min.
  • ungekürztes Hörbuch


Hap Collins, chicken plant guard, saves a young woman's life, and her father, owner of the chicken plant, rewards him with a large cash bonus. Hap and his best friend, Leonard Pine, head for a cruise to Mexico and the Caribbean. Not matching up to the exacting dress code of the on-board lobster restaurant, Leonard soon causes the pair to be abandoned in Mexico. There they are saved from knife-wielding policemen by a geriatric fisherman and his daughter, Beatrice. But try as he might, Hap can't seem to stay out of other people's business. Beatrice's past returns to haunt her in the shape of a Mexican mobster and threatens to drag Hap, and all those closest to him, into further violence.


Das könnte Ihnen auch gefallen:



Hap and Leonard in a deadly Jarabe in Mexico

It is fun to read Lansdale, but this is one of his weaker books.

Regardles of that, Phil Gigante does an outstanding job in narrating the story and it is a real pleasure to listen to him. His performance compensates for some of the short comings of the book.

The story itself is not very convincing and contains a lot of implausible details, which make it appear a little bit far fetched and constructed. Hap saves a young girl's life and uses the reward to go on a cruise together with Leonard. As we know, both of them work like a magnet for trouble and disaster and pretty soon they get entangled with a Mexican crime Lord. The situation develops to an Enchilada of abuse, murder and abduction spiced with a little bit of sex and money, but as always, Hap and Leonard put things right and get away with minor bruises and injuries. .

Lansdale has his usual way with words and the language is really bad, but incredible funny. The way he tells the story, makes you easily forget the flaws of the plot. You can't help it, you will have to laugh out loud sometimes and that alone is worth reading the book.

Lesen Sie weiter...

- BikerJoe

Weitere Infos zum Titel

  • Erscheinungsdatum: 10.11.2009
  • Verlag: Brilliance Audio