End of Watch : Bill Hodges Trilogy

  • von Stephen King
  • Sprecher: Will Patton
  • Serie: Bill Hodges Trilogy
  • 12 Std. 54 Min.
  • ungekürztes Hörbuch


The spectacular finale to the New York Times best-selling trilogy that began with Mr. Mercedes (winner of the Edgar Award) and Finders Keepers
In End of Watch, the diabolical "Mercedes Killer" drives his enemies to suicide, and if Bill Hodges and Holly Gibney don't figure out a way to stop him, they'll be victims themselves.
In Room 217 of the Lakes Region Traumatic Brain Injury Clinic, something has awakened. Something evil. Brady Hartsfield, perpetrator of the Mercedes Massacre, where eight people were killed and many more were badly injured, has been in the clinic for five years, in a vegetative state. According to his doctors, anything approaching a complete recovery is unlikely. But behind the drool and stare, Brady is awake and in possession of deadly new powers that allow him to wreak unimaginable havoc without ever leaving his hospital room.
Retired police detective Bill Hodges, the unlikely hero of Mr. Mercedes and Finders Keepers, now runs an investigation agency with his partner, Holly Gibney - the woman who delivered the blow to Hartsfield's head that put him in the brain injury ward. When Bill and Holly are called to a suicide scene with ties to the Mercedes Massacre, they find themselves pulled into their most dangerous case yet, one that will put their lives at risk as well as those of Bill's heroic young friend, Jerome Robinson, and his teenage sister, Barbara. Brady Hartsfield is back and planning revenge not just on Hodges and his friends but on an entire city.
In End of Watch, Stephen King brings the Hodges trilogy to a sublimely terrifying conclusion, combining the detective fiction of Mr. Mercedes and Finders Keepers with the heart-pounding supernatural suspense that has been his best-selling trademark. The result is an unnerving look at human vulnerability and chilling suspense. No one does it better than King.


Das könnte Ihnen auch gefallen:



Great Finale with a soft undertone

Stephen King is an excellent story teller and with "End of Watch" he brought the "Bill Hodges Trilogy" to a great finale. While the first 2 novels were a little bit unusual as far as crime stories go, End of Watch has an additional touch of the supernatural, which I thought is quite superfluous, but it is so skillfully woven into the narrative that it did not spoil the story for me.

Bill Hodges, the die-hard old cop and Holly Gibney, the smart autistic young lady, are back again. Together they run a little private detective agency " Finders Keepers". Bill finally lost a lot of weight, but somehow he does not feel well. Holly is worried. Bill is not just a business partner, he is more than that, he gave her life real meaning again. The thought of losing him, drives her crazy. But Bill has other worries apart from his health issues.

Brady Hartsfield, the insane killer, who ran over and killed 8 innocent people and who tried to blow up hundreds of teenagers during a pop concert, is somehow creating trouble again, even in his current position, severely handicapped and locked up in a Traumatic Brain Injury Clinic. A series of unexplained suicides, some of them in the direct vicinity of Brady, make Bill wonder, he just can't figure out, how Brady would do that.

It is a complex and fascinating story and it gets under your skin, whether you like it or not. It is not just the gripping suspense and the exposure to human pain and suffering, for me it is also the emotional touch, which makes it such a great story. The multifaceted relationship between Bill and Holly, the deep and unusual love and respect for each other, are hard to find in other Stephen King books.

It is a great book, but if you did not do it yet, read the 2 other books of the trilogy first
Lesen Sie weiter...

- BikerJoe

Original premise of trilogy lost

overall, a fine book. My only problem with it is that it strayed too far from the first (and best) book in the series.
Lesen Sie weiter...

- swbrother

Weitere Infos zum Titel

  • Erscheinungsdatum: 07.06.2016
  • Verlag: Simon & Schuster Audio