Hausfrau

  • von Jill Alexander Essbaum
  • Sprecher: Mozhan Marno
  • 9 Std. 43 Min.
  • ungekürztes Hörbuch

Beschreibung

One of the Huffington Post’s most anticipated books of 2015
For readers of Claire Messud and Mary Gaitskill comes a striking debut novel of marriage, fidelity, sex, and morality, featuring a fascinating heroine who struggles to live a life with meaning.
Anna was a good wife, mostly.
Anna Benz, an American in her late thirties, lives with her Swiss husband, Bruno - a banker - and their three young children in a postcard-perfect suburb of Zürich. Though she leads a comfortable, well-appointed life, Anna is falling apart inside. Adrift and increasingly unable to connect with the emotionally unavailable Bruno or even with her own thoughts and feelings, Anna tries to rouse herself with new experiences: German language classes, Jungian analysis, and a series of sexual affairs she enters with an ease that surprises even her.
But Anna can't easily extract herself from these affairs. When she wants to end them, she finds it’s difficult. Tensions escalate, and her lies start to spin out of control. Having crossed a moral threshold, Anna will discover where a woman goes when there is no going back.
Intimate, intense, and written with the precision of a Swiss Army knife, Jill Alexander Essbaum's debut novel is an unforgettable story of marriage, fidelity, sex, morality, and most especially self. Navigating the lines between lust and love, guilt and shame, excuses and reasons, Anna Benz is an electrifying heroine whose passions and choices readers will debate with recognition and fury. Her story reveals, with honesty and great beauty, how we create ourselves and how we lose ourselves and the sometimes disastrous choices we make to find ourselves.

weiterlesen

Kritikerstimmen

"A stunningly written, hauntingly paced book... Reading Hausfrau is like staring at a painting that simultaneously seduces and disturbs. Even when you want to turn away, you find your feet are planted to the floor." (Sloane Crosley, author of I Was Told There’d Be Cake)
"Hausfrau stuns with its confidence and severe beauty, its cascading insights into the uses of erotic life and the nature of secrets, the urgency of compulsion, and the difficulty of freedom. This is a rare and remarkable debut." (Janet Fitch, number one New York Times best-selling author of White Oleander)
"I was mesmerized by this book. Hausfrau creates a complete, engrossing, and particular world where nothing is as easy as it should be, according to the hopeful stories we tell ourselves. It's a corrective novel, taking character, destiny, and our choices as seriously as a novelist can." (Sheila Heti, author of How Should a Person Be?)
"Mozhan Marnò's stunningly perfect performance elevates this unforgettable novel to stardom." (AudioFile)

weiterlesen

Das könnte Ihnen auch gefallen:

Hörerrezensionen

Hilfreichste

Poetisch, provokant, psychologisch und tragisch

Ein unbequemer Roman um eine verzweifelte und tief depressive Frau auf dem Weg in den moralischen und emotionalen Abgrund. Jill Alexander Essbaum benutzt deutsche Grammatiklektionen und englische Sprachkunst als Klingen, um Annas Tragödie tief in die Haut zu ritzen. Das tut weh, empört, erschüttert.
Wer diese Geschichte als Gewese um eine gelangweilte, fremdgehende Hausfrau abtut, hat nichts verstanden und sehr viel verpasst.

Zur Sprecherin:

Mozhan Marno ist das Beste, was mir in Sachen Hörbuchsprecherin seit einer ganzen Weile begegnet ist. Nicht nur, weil sie sich bravurös mit vielen deutschen Begriffen und Dr. Messerli’s hartem Akkzent herumschlägt, sondern vor allem, weil sie Annas Gefühlsleben so feinfühlig reflektiert. Man hört Annas emotionale Abgestumpftheit, den fast gelangweilten, oberflächlich wirkenden Tonfall. Und hört doch gleichzeitig, was sich darunter verbirgt: ein schwarzes Loch, viel zu viel Gefühl zum Aushalten, die verschüttete Wärme einer liebevollen Mutter und sich nach Liebe sehnenden Frau.

Marno hat eine erwachsene Stimme, die hart, zerbrechlich, lasziv, eiskalt klingen kann, und das nur mit winzigen Veränderungen im Ausdruck. Wo die Sprache selbst zu einem wichtigen Inhalt des Romans wird, fällt der Hörbuchsprecherin eine ganz besondere Bedeutung zu. Marno liefert hier ein stimmliches Kammerkonzert ab. Intensiv, stimmungsreich. Großartig!
Lesen Sie weiter...

- papercuts1

Weitere Infos zum Hörbuch

  • Erscheinungsdatum: 17.03.2015
  • Verlag: Random House Audio