Stop the Press : Inspector Appleby

  • von Michael Innes
  • Sprecher: Matt Addis
  • Serie: Inspector Appleby
  • 17 Std. 37 Min.
  • ungekürztes Hörbuch


Famous writer, Richard Eliot, has written numerous detective novels, featuring The Spider, a daring, clever criminal in earlier books, and an equally canny private investigator in later ones. But when he comes to life - first to burgle an odd neighbour, then to harass the Eliot family, and finally to attend his own birthday party - Inspector John Appleby is sent to investigate.
Born in Edinburgh in 1906, the son of the city's Director of Education, John Innes Mackintosh Stewart wrote a highly successful series of mystery stories under the pseudonym Michael Innes. Innes was educated at Oriel College, Oxford, where he was presented with the Matthew Arnold Memorial Prize and named a Bishop Frazer's scholar. After graduation he went to Vienna, to study Freudian psychoanalysis for a year and following his first book, an edition of Florio's translation of Montaigne, was offered a lectureship at the University of Leeds. In 1932 he married Margaret Hardwick, a doctor, and they subsequently had five children including Angus, also a novelist. The year 1936 saw Innes as Professor of English at the University of Adelaide, during which tenure he wrote his first mystery story, Death at the President's Lodging. With his second, Hamlet Revenge, Innes firmly established his reputation as a highly entertaining and cultivated writer. After the end of World War II, Innes returned to the UK and spent two years at Queen's University, Belfast where in 1949 he wrote the Journeying Boy, a novel notable for the richly comedic use of an Irish setting. He then settled down as a Reader in English Literature at Christ Church, Oxford, from which he retired in 1973. His most famous character is John Appleby, who inspired a penchant for donnish detective fiction that lasts to this day. Innes's other well-known character is Honeybath, the painter and rather reluctant detective, who first appeared in 1975 in The Mysterious Commission. The last novel, Appleby and the Ospreys, was published in 1986, some eight years before his death in 1994. 'A master - he constructs a plot that twists and turns like an electric eel: it gives you shock upon shock and you cannot let go.'


Das könnte Ihnen auch gefallen:



Malicious intellectuals

Matt Addis is a very good reader regrettably bent on overacting his dialogue parts. His usual narrating voice is absolutely perfect, but when presenting unpleasant characters he can get so thorougly unpleasant himself that one might wish him to shut up.
I suppose one has to allow for less agreeable parts in audiobooks and just get on with it, but the fatal flaw in this one seems to me the voice of Inspector Appleby himself, who happens to be the leading character of the whole series and is supposed to be an eminently well-bred and likeable gentleman. Matt Addis gives him a fat, throaty voice that makes him sound like some puffed- up old bore.
As for the story, it is only moderately intriguing (to say it politely), although very clever and well-written as usual. Not his best one.
Lesen Sie weiter...

- listener

Weitere Infos zum Titel

  • Erscheinungsdatum: 02.05.2013
  • Verlag: Audible Studios