The Forgotten Room : Dr. Jeremy Logan

  • von Lincoln Child
  • Sprecher: Johnathan McClain
  • Serie: Dr. Jeremy Logan
  • 9 Std. 54 Min.
  • ungekürztes Hörbuch


New York Times best seller Lincoln Child returns with a riveting new thriller featuring the charismatic and quirky Professor Jeremy Logan, renowned investigator of the strange and the inexplicable, as he uncovers a long-lost secret experiment only rumored to have existed.
Jeremy Logan (The Third Gate, Deep Storm) is an "enigmalogist" - an investigator who specializes in analyzing phenomena that have no obvious explanation. In this newest novel, Logan finds himself on the storied coastline of Newport, Rhode Island, where he has been retained by Lux, one of the oldest and most respected think tanks in America. Just days earlier, a series of frightening events took place in the sprawling seaside mansion that houses the organization. One of its most distinguished doctors began acting erratically - violently attacking an assistant in the mansion's opulent library and, moments later, killing himself in a truly shocking fashion. Terrified by the incident and the bizarre evidence left behind, the group hires Logan to investigate - discreetly - what drove this erudite man to madness.
His work leads him to an unexpected find. In a long-dormant wing of the estate, Logan uncovers an ingeniously hidden secret room, concealed and apparently untouched for decades. The room is a time capsule, filled with eerie and obscure scientific equipment that points to a top-secret project long thought destroyed, known only as "Project S." Ultimately the truth of what Project S was...and what has happened in that room...will put Logan in the path of a completely unexpected danger.
One of his most thrilling novels to date, The Forgotten Room is replete with veiled, fascinating history and all the exhilarating action and science that are the hallmarks of a Lincoln Child blockbuster.


Das könnte Ihnen auch gefallen:



Reheated leftovers.

The premise was promising. But of course the storytelling was predictable, well-nigh boring. Preston and Child's collaborative books are still quite good but their solo works rarely fail to disappoint. It's always more or less the same old plot, it's always the same components and clichés:
• the hero is a slightly paranormal jack-of-all-trades: eccentric yet strangely flat and a bit slow – driving a very expensive car;
• the sidekick is just as cut and dried: a beautiful female scientist, almost as brilliant and slow-witted as the protagonist;
• the setting is absurdly grandiose: a mansion, a cruise ship, a forgotten monastery or a secret cave in the middle of New York – equipped as standard to resemble a Disneyland ride;
• scientists (whether they're evil or amiable) wear tweed coats;
• there is someone with a Scottish accent;
• someone else is listening to Alkan's "Grand Sonate";
• there's a least one quotation in Latin or medieval Italian;
• there's a priceless old master painting in an unlikely place;
• someone favours Bauhaus furniture over rococo;
• "rococo" doesn't meant rococo but anything old – it's synonymous with Edwardian and Tudor;
• as the plot thickens a storm / spring tide / volcanic eruption traps the protagonists and their dangerous adversaries in the same place (the mansion / the cruise ship / the Pharao's tomb …);
• as the plot thickens further the protagonist will be chased through a forgotten sub-basement / tidal cave / diamond mine (probably bleeding after a grazing shot);
• he'll escape thanks to the lucky discovery of a forgotten contraption (a pneumatic chute / a dumb waiter / an unfinished metro station from the 20s …);
• there's a "scientific" explanation for everything.
Lesen Sie weiter...

- Kaleb McCormack

Klassischer Lincoln Child

Lincoln Child wie man ihn kennt. Eine gute Geschichte mit vielen Details und facettenreichen Charakteren. Viel Logik, die manchmal etwas zu sehr ins unrealistische abdriftet. Aber das gehört dazu. Hörenswert.
Lesen Sie weiter...

- Thorsten

Weitere Infos zum Titel

  • Erscheinungsdatum: 12.05.2015
  • Verlag: Random House Audio