The Twenty-Three : Promise Falls

  • von Linwood Barclay
  • Sprecher: Jeff Harding
  • Serie: Promise Falls
  • 13 Std. 23 Min.
  • ungekürztes Hörbuch


A dark cloud of suspicion and fear continues to hang over the town of Promise Falls.
A series of bizarre, ominously threatening incidents suggests someone is plotting to take revenge on the town. But who is the perpetrator, and revenge for what?
Now the time for threats is over. And the inhabitants are about to discover the truth, with devastating consequences.


Das könnte Ihnen auch gefallen:



The secret about "The 23" finally revealed

Halten Sie die Hörbuch-Ausgabe von The Twenty-Three für besser als das Buch?

The last part of the Promise Falls trilogy continues to be a “page turner” – almost impossible to stop listening. It is recommended to listen from part 1 to part 3 as part 3 contains some spoilers to the previous 2 audiobooks that are necessary to explain the background for part 3. In the first part of the trilogy “Broken Promise”the story is narrated from the perspective of David Harwood, a journalist. The second part has got Cal Weaver, a PI, in the lead, followed now by Barry Duckworth a detective in ”The Twenty Three”. Thus, choosing a different narrator for each of the books resonated well with me. The lives of all 3 protagonists are interwoven throughout the trilogy. In previous books that I also enjoyed listening to, David Harwood’s background story is covered in “Never Look Away”, and Cal Weaver’s in “A tap on the Window”. In “The Twenty Three” all hell breaks loose on the Saturday of the Memorial weekend, when intentional water poisoning kills hundreds of Promise Falls residents, and more sins of the past finally come to light. Gruesome murders happening to young women trigger revenge and the hidden connections with the murders and the water poisoning are revealed. Again quite a lot of suspects to choose from with tracks well covered, although when following the first 2 parts I had some forebodings how that story might end. While the case of “The Twenty Three” is now resolved, there are new threads emerging that may lead again to new books outside the trilogy for Cal, David or Barry. Looking forward to how Linwood Barclay will make good use of it!

Lesen Sie weiter...

- GS

Weitere Infos zum Titel

  • Erscheinungsdatum: 22.09.2016
  • Verlag: Orion