The Winter Thief : Kamil Pasha

  • von Jenny White
  • Sprecher: Wanda McCaddon
  • Serie: Kamil Pasha
  • 11 Std. 17 Min.
  • ungekürztes Hörbuch


January 1888. Vera Arti carries The Communist Manifesto in Armenian through Istanbul’s streets, unaware of the men following her. When the police discover a shipload of guns and the Imperial Ottoman Bank is blown up, suspicion falls on a socialist commune Arti’s friends organized in the eastern mountains. Special Prosecutor Kamil Pasha is called in to investigate. He soon encounters his most ruthless adversary to date: Vahid, head of a special branch of the secret police, who has convinced the sultan that the commune is leading a secessionist movement and should be destroyed - along with surrounding villages. Kamil must stop the massacre, but he finds himself on the wrong side of the law, framed for murder and accused of treason, his family and the woman he loves threatened.
Exploring the dark obsessions of the most powerful and dangerous men of the dying Ottoman Empire, The Winter Thief also reflects the mad idealism of those turbulent times.Jenny White is the author of The Sultan’s Seal, a finalist for the Ellis Peters Historical Crime Award, The Abyssinian Proof, and The Winter Thief. She is a professor of anthropology at Boston University, specializing in Turkey.



“White's gripping third thriller to feature Turkish detective Kamil Pasha will appeal to fans of Laura Joh Rowland's Japanese historical series…The atmospherics and period detail are first-rate.” (Publishers Weekly)
“The nineteenth-century Ottoman Empire, in the throes of political upheaval, again provides the vividly realized background for this third mystery featuring Special Prosecutor Kamil Pasha. White demonstrates her in-depth knowledge of Turkish history in a deftly plotted and clever tale of intrigue, duplicity, and violence…White’s best book to date.” (Booklist)


Das könnte Ihnen auch gefallen:


Für diesen Titel gibt es noch keine Hörerrezensionen.

Weitere Infos zum Titel

  • Erscheinungsdatum: 06.10.2010
  • Verlag: Blackstone Audio, Inc.