A History of Western Philosophy

  • von Bertrand Russell
  • Sprecher: Jonathan Keeble
  • 38 Std. 7 Min.
  • ungekürztes Hörbuch


Bertrand Russell's A History of Western Philosophy serves as the perfect introduction to its subject; it remains unchallenged as the greatest account of the history of Western thought. Charting philosophy's course from the pre-Socratics up to the early twentieth century, Russell relates each philosopher and school to their respective historical and cultural contexts, providing erudite commentary throughout his invaluable survey. This engaging and comprehensive work has done much to educate and inform generations of general readers; it is written in accessible and elegantly crafted prose and allows for an easy grasp of complex ideas.
PLEASE NOTE: When you purchase this title, the accompanying reference material will be available in your My Library section along with the audio.


Das könnte Ihnen auch gefallen:



Talking philosophers

Jonathan Keeble speaks in two different voices. His narrating voice, as presented in the sample, is polished, affable, perfectly poised and highly agreeable - all as it should be.
But then he deems it necessary to present all the original philosophers` sayings in a different voice, which is loud, bragging, aggressive and a pain in the ears.
Keeble`s philosophers talk like drunken sailors. What are they saying? Don`t know. Can`t listen. Shall have to look it up in the book. (A very good book, by the way.)
Lesen Sie weiter...

- listener

A philosophy a day keeps the doctor away

In spite of its age, the book is an inspiration. The link between historical background and philosophy makes it more simple to grasp the thinking and anchor them in the brain. For me it was a re-hearing of a book I read 30 years ago. Whether I learned something knew in the second reading, I cannot say. Maybe Bergson can give the answer.

The narrator did a fine job in spite of the length of the book.
Lesen Sie weiter...

- Marc Dierckx

Weitere Infos zum Titel

  • Erscheinungsdatum: 12.10.2013
  • Verlag: Naxos AudioBooks