From Fatwa to Jihad

  • von Kenan Malik
  • Sprecher: Lyndam Gregory
  • 9 Std. 48 Min.
  • ungekürztes Hörbuch


Twenty years ago, the image of burning copies of Salman Rushdie's The Satanic Verses held aloft by thousand-strong mobs of protestors became an internationally familiar symbol of anger and offence. Kenan Malik examines how the Rushdie affair transformed the debate worldwide on multiculturalism, tolerance, and free speech, helped fuel the rise of radical Islam and pointed the way to the horrors of 9/11 and 7/7.
"Malik’s big idea is that multiculturalism – by which he means organised ethnic interest groups – has led to a culture of grievance which renders 'secular and progressive arguments less sayable'. The word 'multiculturalism' stirs outrage as reliably as stories about straight bananas in Europe. The fact that an investigation into its history ends with the Birmingham Chinese Society should give us pause for thought. One legacy of the Rushdie affair is that it has revived debate over the future of multi-ethnic, multi-faith states. Those who believe that pluralist nations end in disaster do not need straw men like 'multiculti' to disguise their views. Why allow them to duck the debate so easily?"
--Nicholas Blincoe, Daily Telegraph



"A gripping account of how we went from burning books to bombs on buses. The Rushdie Affair has shaped all our lives. This book shows us how." (Hanif Kureishi)
"A thorough and highly readable history of the politics of the Rushdie affair and an important intervention in the current debate on freedom of expression." (Monica Ali)


Das könnte Ihnen auch gefallen:



insightful and thought-stirring

As I am German, I wasn't as aware of the Rushdie affair. I do think though, that even people that have read a lot about it already will find that the connections made to recent history and current events will, if not change their minds completely, definitely stirr up thoughts.
Lesen Sie weiter...

- Amazon Kunde

Weitere Infos zum Titel

  • Erscheinungsdatum: 30.04.2010
  • Verlag: Audible Studios