Life at the Speed of Light

  • von J. Craig Venter
  • Sprecher: Bob Souer
  • 6 Std. 56 Min.
  • ungekürztes Hörbuch


In 2010, scientists led by J. Craig Venter became the first to successfully create "synthetic life" - putting humankind at the threshold of the most important and exciting phase of biological research, one that will enable us to actually write the genetic code for designing new species to help us adapt and evolve for long-term survival. The science of synthetic genomics will have a profound impact on human existence, including chemical and energy generation, health, clean water and food production, environmental control, and possibly even our evolution.
In Life at the Speed of Light, Venter presents a fascinating and authoritative study of this emerging field from the inside-detailing its origins, current challenges and controversies, and projected effects on our lives. This scientific frontier provides an opportunity to ponder anew the age-old question "What is life?" and examine what we really mean by "playing God." Life at the Speed of Light is a landmark work, written by a visionary at the dawn of a new era of biological engineering.


Das könnte Ihnen auch gefallen:



A very interesting and informative book

Würden Sie Life at the Speed of Light noch mal anhören? Warum?

I would look up the original publications to check some specific details. Won't need to listen to the book again.

Was genau mochten Sie an der Sprecherleistung? Was hat Ihnen nicht gefallen?

The narrator mispronounced some scientific terms and abbreviations. Also, the way he pronounced w's drew me up the wall!

Was wäre für andere Hörer sonst noch hilfreich zu wissen, um das Hörbuch richtig einschätzen zu können?

This book is very easy to understand for anyone who took at least an intro genetics course in college and paid attention. I was afraid it would be too dumbed down, but the amount of scientific detail was just right.

Lesen Sie weiter...

- OlgaD

Weitere Infos zum Titel

  • Erscheinungsdatum: 17.10.2013
  • Verlag: Tantor Audio