• von Richard J. Foster
  • Sprecher: Rick Adamson
  • 3 Std. 25 Min.
  • gekürztes Hörbuch


First published in 1992, Prayer: Finding the Heart's True Home has become a classic on its eponymous subject. Awarded Christianity Today's Book of the Year award and the Evangelical Christian Publishers Association's Gold Medallion award, Prayer continues to receive widespread acclaim as one of the most thorough and insightful treatments of this central spiritual practice. Following the structure of his 1.2 million copy-selling Celebration of Discipline, Prayer explores three spiritual "movements" of prayer: inward, upward, and outward. Within each movement he looks at seven different types of prayer, for a total exploration of 21 separate forms of prayer.
Coming to prayer is like coming home, Foster says. "Nothing feels more right, more like what we are created to be and to do." This accessible, rich, and reliable guide shows how each of the various forms of prayer can move us inward into personal transformation, upward toward intimacy with God, and outward to minister to others.


Beschreibung von Audible

A minister and theologian in the Quaker tradition presents his musings and experiences regarding prayer. While he certainly has some evangelical tendencies, Foster's approach to the topic is quite within the Quaker tradition of emphasis on the personal, subjective "inner light." He touches not only on prayer, but also on many other aspects of the worship of God. Rick Adamson gives a competent performance of this work, which is a combination of lecture, sermon, how-to suggestions, and stories of inspirational incidents. Adamson reads clearly and with appropriate expression as the discussion moves from topic to topic.



"An excellent and comprehensive survey of 21 forms of Christian prayer....One of the best, most comprehensive, yet accessible introductions to prayer." ( Library Journal)


Das könnte Ihnen auch gefallen:


Für diesen Titel gibt es noch keine Hörerrezensionen.

Weitere Infos zum Titel

  • Erscheinungsdatum: 29.08.2005
  • Verlag: HarperAudio